Below are links to digital formats of a few collections in Heritage Hall. To learn of all the records are stored in Heritage Hall use the Hekman Library web catalog at the Hekman Library website.
You can search and browse a limited selection of our finding aids online.
If you have questions, you are welcome to contact us.
Birthday, Marriage, Anniversary, and Obituary Announcements
Historical (Closed) Church Records
Emigrants from the Netherlands
Local Dutch Wedding Histories
Below are descriptions of some of the more heavily used collections in Heritage Hall. Data from these collection are not available in digital format and Heritage Hall does not have sufficient staff to conduct family research, but patrons are welcome to conduct their research in person.
Holland-America Line Passenger Indexes, 1900-1940
Microfiches copies of the lists with annual indexes, includes all passengers sailing on the Holland-America Line and is not limited to a single nationality.
Background on the Holland America Line: http://www.JewishGen.org/infofiles/hollam3.txt
Detailed description of the lists: http://www.JewishGen.org/infofiles/hollam.txt
Swierenga Passenger Indexes
NOTE: Some microfilm copies of the original records of Swierenga's research are deposited in Heritage Hall, but these copies contain no data in addition to what is in the published sources. These indices contain detailed indexes of people who emigrated from the Netherlands to America between 1820 and 1904. Many of these records are now available from Family Tree Maker, "Immigration Records: Dutch in America, 1800s" (CD# 269).