Select Web Resources for Local and Family History

Alle Frisians

A site that is building a database of registers of birth, marriages, and deaths from Frisian municipalities since 1811. Death certificates become public after 50 years, marriage certificates after 75 years, and the birth certificates after a 100 years. Can be searched by name. A scan of a certificate can be viewed, copied, saved, and printed via photo editor software. Available in Frisian, Dutch, or English.

Alle Groningers

A site that is building a database of vital records from all public archives in the province of Groningen from the 17th century until c1920. Results can be sorted in a variety of ways and wildcard keys can be used to deal with spelling variants. The site is in Dutch. Does not include birth records, 1811-c1920. A scan of a certificate can be viewed, copied, saved, and printed via photo editor software.

Allendrenten

A database from the archives of the Province of Drenthe, the Netherlands, which is continually updated. Searches a number of sources, including church registers back to 1600 and links to a site that has some records as early as 1040. The site is in Dutch.

Begraafplaatsen, 1850-

'Dutch Cemeteries' project makes infornation of dutch cemeteries available without charge for Genealogical researchers. Provided birth and death dates, age at date, spouse'ssurname, and a photo of the garve marker. The site is mostly in Dutch.

Cyndi's List: Netherlands

A comprehensive listing of sites relevant to Dutch-American research. Categories include General Resource Sites, History & Culture, Libraries, Archives & Museums, Locality Specific & Migration, Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat , Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical, Information, People & Families, Professional Researchers, Volunteers, & Other Research Services, Publications, Software & Supplies, Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital Societies & Groups.

Dutch Genealogical Society Nederlandse Genealogische Vereniging

The largest society of its kind in the Netherlands, site is in Dutch with limited English.

Ferwerderadeel Friesland Families

Fully linked website with information on 40,000+ families in the municipality of Ferwerderadeel, located in the northern part of the province of Friesland, the Netherlands. Available in Dutch and English.

Frisian Historical and Literary Centre

Searchable databases of births (1811-1902), marriages (1811-1922) and deaths (1811-1942) from the Register of Births, Deaths and Marriages, as well as data on marriages, births, and deaths prior to 1812 in the Province of Friesland. Available in Frisian, Dutch, or English. Death certificates become public after 50 years, marriage certificates after 75 years, and the birth certificates after a 100 years.

Gelder Archief

A database from the archives of the Province of Gelderland, the Netherlands, which is continually updated. The data since 1811 is also containe din Wiewaswie, but this sight provide access to numberous other provincial sources. The site is in Dutch.

Geneaknowhow.net

Links to up-to-date resources available to digital genealogical data in the Netherlands and Belgium. Some of the data are available on-line, the rest via compact disks. Some of the online site are free, others are subscription services.

Graftombe

A database of information from headstones in some cemeteries in the following Dutch provinces: Drenthe, Friesland, Groningen, Limburg, Noord-Brabant, Noord-Holland, Overijssel, Utrecht, and Zuid Holland. Useful in providing 20th century data not available via other databases.

Het Utrechts Archief

The Utrecht Archives managesa collection of prints, maps, photographs, films, publications, and family history on the city and province of Utrecht. The Archives is also the national center for church archives and those of the Dutch Railways.

Macatawa Bay Area History & Heritage

With a focus on West Michigan, this site includes family histories, transcriptions of cemeteries, church records, marriage records, birth records, and death records.

NedGen Dutch Genealogy Search Engine Nederlandse Genealogie Zoekmachine Stamboom

The first Dutch Genealogy Search Engine. Indexes Dutch genealogical homepages exclusively.

The Unofficial Holland America Line Home Page

Information about and pictures of ships that have sailed for the Holland America Line.

WieWasWie

Searchable databases of genealogical data (births, marriages and deaths) from the State Archives Service, recorded in the Netherlands 1811-1955. Limited access for free; full access requires subscription. As of 1 January 2013 the Genlias database is no longer available. The data has been migrated to the new site WieWasWie.

Yvette's Dutch Genealogy Page

Family, Emigration, Cartography, Links and Research.

Zeeuwen Gezocht

Marriage, birth, and death records from public and private records in archives in the province of Zeeland from the 16th century to 1811. Available in Dutch or English.