Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Guides and Instruction' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• Guides for Finding ­ • Search Tips ­ • Citing Sources ­ • SmartSearch Introduction ­ • Website Mobile Edition ­

Guides and Instruction Citing Sources

MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles

MLA, APA, and Chicago styles are the three most common documentation styles required by Calvin professors. The official rules and guidance for these styles are provided the manuals listed below. All three manuals can be found in print in the Reference Collection and also at the Research Assistance Desk (click on the links for online versions).

IMPORTANT:  A number of tools (such as those listed below) help with generating citations automatically, but they are not always correct nor cover every situation. The style manuals are considered the authorities for citation and formatting rules.

Citation Generators

KnightCite  Use KnightCite, Calvin's own citation generator (works with MLA, APA, and Chicago styles).
  Or try:

  • NoodleTools (MLA and APA) - Try the free version, NoodleBib Express
  • Citation Machine (MLA, APA, Chicago) - another free citation generator
  • Microsoft Word 2007's citation generator (under the References tab)

 

Citation Help in the Research Databases

Thomson-Gale databases provide two sources of citation help.  For most items, look at the bottom of the record to find the "Source Citation" in MLA style.  Or, use the "Citation Tools" option on the right side of the database screen, which also offers APA formatting.

Examples of Thomson Gale databases (click for full list):

 Gale citation


CSA databases
allow you to mark records and then save or e-mail them to yourself using the citation style of your choice.

Examples of CSA databases (click link for full list):


Many of the FirstSearch databases are also providing help with citations. When viewing a full record, click on the "how to cite" link to bring up formatted citations in all the major styles.

Examples of FirstSearch Databases (click link for full list):


Other databases provide the option to view, save, or export records in a selected citation style. Examples:

Further Help with Citations

Still have questions?  These websites provide extensive examples and help with documenting sources:

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470