Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Guides for Finding' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• Sermons on the Web ­ • Biographical Information ­ • Census Information ­ • Dissertations ­ • Federal Government Information ­ • Government Documents ­ • Laws (U.S.) ­ • Patents ­ • Subject Encyclopedias ­ • Theater Reviews ­

Guides for Finding Dissertations

Finding Dissertations:

Begin with the database WorldCatDissertations, a subset of WorldCat. Once you have located a dissertation of interest request it via Hekman Library's InterLibrary Loan. For access to the database Dissertation Abstracts, please contact Lugene Schemper or Paul Fields.

Free Database Alternatives

The following are some free databases which may help you find a dissertation if your search in Dissertation Abstracts is unsuccessful:

Abes: Agence Bibliographique de l'Enseignement Superieur
Citations to French dissertations.

Australian Digital Theses Program
This site provides both citation and full-text access to a few thousand theses and dissertations published in Australia.

The British Library
The British Library provides access to citations of theses from British universities (most doctoral theses from the early 1970s onward), from the United States (475,000 doctoral theses), and from Canada (several hundred doctoral theses from 1980 forward).

Center for Research Libraries
Twenty thousand doctoral dissertations from outside of the United States and Canada are searchable from this site. Items can be ordered through ILL by students, faculty, and staff.

Cybertheses
Cybertheses allows access to citations of French dissertations from 1972 to the present.

Digital Library and Archives
Digital Library and Archives allows searching for citations and abstracts of over 6,700 theses and dissertations. Free full-text access is provided for over 4,500 of these items.

American Historical Association Directory of Dissertations in Progress
"The Directory contains 3,804 dissertations in progress at 170 academic departments in Canada and the U.S." This is a citation database of dissertations in progress in the area of history.

Dissertation.com
Dissertation.com has just a few hundred dissertations and theses in its collection, but the site allows free, full-text access to the first twenty-five pages of each item.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
This is an international database of citations for dissertations in musicology that contains over 12,000 records. Dissertations are from approximately 1950 to the present.

NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD provides access to citations from thousands of digital dissertations and theses that are in PDF format. A significant number of these resources are freely available in full-text and can be viewed online.

PhdData: The Universal Index of Dissertations in Progress
PhdData has citations from several thousand dissertations in progress from various parts of the world.

Theses Canada Portal
Theses Canada provides access to bibliographic citations for all the theses in the National Library of Canada Theses Collection. Access to full-text theses is available for all items published between January 1, 1998 to August 31, 2002.

TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network
TREN provides citations to 6,800 theological theses/dissertations and conference papers. Items can then be purchased through this site. The opening page actually states that they have 10,000 theses/dissertations, but the search page allows searching of 6,800 items.

Calvin Theological Seminary Ph.D. Dissertations

Many of the following Calvin Theological Seminary Ph.D. dissertations are available digitially:

Tersur Akuma Aben.
The Doctrine of Divine Immutability as God’s Constancy. Pp. xi + 227.

2000

Abstract
FullText

J. Mark Beach.
Christ and the Covenant: Francis Turretin’s Federal Theology as a Defense of the Doctrine of Grace. Pp. x + 436.
2005
Abstract
FullText
Raymond Andrew Blacketer.
L École de Dieu: Pedagogy and Rhetoric in Calvin’s Interpretation of Deuteronomy. Pp. x + 399.
1998
Abstract
FullText
Douglas Allan Felch.
From Here to Eternity: A Biblical, Theological, and Analogical Defense of Divine Eternity in Light of Recent Challenges within Analytic Philosophy. Pp.xiii + 410.
2005
Abstract
FullText
Hidalgo B. Garcia.
Missio Politica Oecumenica: Mission and Political Action in the Life and Thought of Johannes Verkuyl (1908-2001). Pp. xiii + 385.
2006
Abstract
FullText
Stephen J. Grabill.
Theological Foundation for a Reformed Doctrine of Natural Law. Pp. x + 353.
2004
Abstract
FullText
Byunghoon Kim.
Tritheism and Divine Person as Center of Consciousness with a Comparative Appraisal of Jürgen Moltmann and William Hill As Test Cases. Pp. x + 334.
2002
Abstract
FullText
Henry M. Knapp.
Understanding the Mind of God: John Owen and Seventeenth-Century Exegetical Methodology. Pp. x + 417.
2002
Abstract
FullText
Mark James Larson.
John Calvin, the Geneva Reformation, and Godly Warfare: Church and State in the Calvinian Tradition. Pp x + 267.
2005
Abstract
FullText
Brian J. Lee.
Biblical Exegesis, Federal Theology, and Johannes Cocceius: Developments in the Interpretation of Hebrews 7:1 – 10: 18. Pp. x + 279.
2003
Abstract
FullText
Sungho Lee.
All Subjects of the Kingdom of Christ: John Owen’s Conceptions of Christian Unity and Schism. Pp. x + 294.
2007
Abstract
FullText
Won Taek Lim.
The Covenant Theology of Francis Roberts. Pp. ix + 350.
2000
Abstract
FullText
Benebo Fubara-Manuel.
From “Winner” to “Sign”: The Changed Understanding of the Church-World Relationship in Twentieth-Century Ecumenical Thought. Pp. x + 385.
2004
Abstract
FullText
Luiz Roberto Franca De Mattos.
An Analysis and Critique of Leonardo Boff’s Theology and Social Ethics. Pp. x + 288.
2001
Abstract
FullText
Thomas H. McCall.
Modified Kenotic Christology, the Trinity, and Christian Orthodoxy. Pp. xi + 333.
2004
Abstract
FullText
Mbunga Mpindi.
Calvin’s Hermeneutics of the Imprecations of the Psalter. Pp. x + 270.
2004
Abstract
FullText
Jean De Dieu Rajaonarivony.
Transcendence and History in Karl Barth’s Amillennial Eschatology. Pp. x + 367.
1997
Abstract
FullText
Gregory D. Schuringa.
Embracing Leer and Leven: The Theology of Simon Oomius in the Context of Nadere Reformatie Orthodoxy. Pp. x + 349.
2004
Abstract
FullText
Jai-Sung Shim.
Biblical Hermeneutics and Hebraism in the Early Seventeenth Century as Reflected in the Work of John Weemse (1579-1636). Pp. x + 367.
1998
Abstract
FullText
Keith D. Stanglin.
To Comfort the Afflicted and Upset the Secure: Jacobus Arminius and the Roots of the Leiden Debate over the Assurance of Salvation. Pp. xi + 340.
2006

Abstract FullText

Yudha Thianto.
Baptismal Practice and Trinitarian Belief in Joseph Bingham’s Origines Ecclesiasticae: A Study in the Historical and Theological Contexts of Patristic Scholarship at the Close of the Era of Orthodoxy. Pp. xiv + 337.
2006
Abstract
FullText
Peter H. Vande Brake
Divine Passibility. Pp. x + 261.
2001
Abstract
FullText
Carol A. Williams
The Decree of Redemption Is In Effect a Covenant: David Dickson and the Covenant of Redemption. Pp. x + 287.
2005 Abstract
FullText
Roy Leonard Williams
William Edwin Boardman (1810-1886): Evangelist of the Higher Christian Life. Pp. x + 234.
1998
Abstract
FullText
Michael Eugene Wittmer
Analysis and Critique of “Christ the Transformer of Culture” in the
Thought of H. Richard Niebuhr. Pp. x + 309.
2002
Abstract
FullText

 

 

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470