Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Guides for Finding' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402

Guides for Finding Company Information

Finding Company Information

The Hekman Library supports its business faculty and students through print and online access to many sources of information on private and public companies, a well as not-for-profit organizations. While there are many paths to collecting this kind of information, we recommend the following steps to best utilize the resources available to you at Calvin.

Public, Private or Not-for-Profit?

If a company is public (stocks are available to be bought and sold by the public on one of the stock exchanges), there will be a wealth of information because publicly traded companies must file extensive information with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It is helpful to identify a public company’s “ticker symbol,” since this can be used as a quick look-up key in other sources. Both Yahoo and Lycos provide a ticker symbol search. If you can’t find a company at one of these sites, then it is likely privately held. Examples of area public companies include Herman Miller, Inc., and Steelcase Inc, with respective ticker symbols HMLR (traded on the Nasdaq stock exchange) and SCS (traded on the New York Stock Exchange, or NYSE).

If a company is private, meaning it is privately held and stock is not publicly available for purchase, you can expect to find less information because the company is not required to disclose information to the SEC. Small companies, like Cascade Engineering in Grand Rapids, as well as very large companies, like Haworth, Inc., and Shell Oil, can be privately held.

If the organization is not-for-profit, like United Way of America or Girls Scouts of America, you will find varying amounts of information, but certainly not as much as publicly traded, for-profit enterprises.

Company Profiles

Whether your company is public, private or not-for-profit, national or international, the best and most comprehensive source to go to at Calvin is LexisNexis Academic. Once in Lexis/Nexis, select Business from the menu on the left, and then Company Profiles. Type in the name of the organization to retrieve whatever the database has on all kinds of organizations. A company’s competitors are identified in any record titled Hoover’s Company Database.

Also select SEC Filings for public companies to be sure you have the most current and comprehensive information. Do not select Directories in this category, since it takes the searcher to market opportunities rather than company-specific information.

 Other recommended sources include:

AnnualReports.com


A free financial report service that offers PDF versions of company annual reports and HTML versions of their Form 10Ks, both of which are primary sources of financial information about a company.
View:  Online Annotation

EDGAR: SEC Filings and Forms


Extensive and reliable full text information about companies required by law to file forms with the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), including financial performance, acquisitions, and major business initiatives.
View:  Online

General Business File ASAP


General Business File ASAP provides complete bibliographic information, abstracts or contents to over 20 million English language articles from approximately 3500 trade and academic publications from around the world.  Includes analysis of company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.


View:  Online

Company Directories

We have many company directories in reference, and these should not be overlooked.

International

International Directory of Company Histories

- HD2721 .I6
Covers over 6,000 companies from around the world in over 60 volumes to date.
View:   In Print Annotation

Hoover's Handbook of World Business

- HG4009 .H66
Features 300 of the world’s most influential companies based outside of the United States.
View:   In Print Annotation

United States

American Big Business Directory

- HF5035 .A49
Includes 200,000 top American businesses. Also on CD-ROM.
View:   In Print Annotation

American Manufacturers Directory

- HD9723 .U27
Includes 645,000 companies with 20 or more employees. Also on CD-ROM. Brief information only.
View:   In Print Annotation

D&B Million Dollar Directory

- HC102 .D8
This five volume high quality directory includes 160,000 public and private U. S. companies with 180 employees or more at headquarter locations.
View:   In Print Annotation

Hoover's Handbook of American Business

- HG4057 .A28617
Cover 750 of America's largest companies, providing 2 page profiles on each entry.
View:   In Print Annotation

Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies

- HG4057.A28618
Covers 600 "small-growth" companies.
View:   In Print Annotation

Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies

- HG4057 .A28616
Covers over 750 privately held organizations.
View:   In Print Annotation

Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives

- HG4057 .A4
Considered a high-quality source of accurate information, this 3 volume set covers 75,000 private and public, U. S. and Canadian corporations.
View:   In Print Annotation

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers


This comprehensive and well-known directory includes thousands of U. S. companies and is commonly used to locate a product or service.
View:  Online Annotation

Value Line Investment Survey

- HG4501 .V26
Provides current information on over 1,700 stocks and full-page company reports.
View:   In Print Annotation

Monitor company news

Magazine, journal, and newspaper articles are a good way to find out how others perceive the company you are research, and can be a valuable source of information on product and marketing news.  Databases that are particularly useful for company research include:

ABI/INFORM


ABI/INFORM is a premier source of English language business, accounting and economics information from around the world. Over 1 million citations from 1971 to the present provide complete bibliographic information, indexing, informative abstracts, and selected full-text articles from more than 1,000 business journals.

ABI/INFORM contains information on more than 60,000 companies as well as executive profiles, reports on market conditions, and in-depth case studies of global business trends. More than 350 of the database's sources are English-language titles published outside the U.S.


View:  Online

Communication & Mass Media Complete


Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch and the Mass Media Articles Index along with other journals in communication and mass media to create a resource with scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers complete indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals and select coverage of 230 more for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Full text articles are available for more than 240 journals.
View:  Online

General OneFile (formerly InfoTrac Onefile)


General OneFile, formerly called InfoTrac Onefile, is a large, multi-subject database, with records from 1980 to the present. More than 11,000 sources are indexed, most with full-text coverage. Sources include U.S. and international newspapers, popular magazines, academic journals, trade and professional publications, multimedia, and general reference sources.
View:  Online

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers


InfoTrac Custom Newspapers is a database collection of full-text newspapers from around the United States and the world.
View:  Online

LexisNexis Academic


LexisNexis Academic is an extensive set of full-text electronic databases of news, business, company, and legal information. It contains major archives of federal and state case law, media transcripts, and other full-text material. For more information consult the LexisNexis Academic help documents and/or search tutorial.
View:  Online

Obtain company specific market share information and other company-specific information relative to its primary industry

Business and Industry

- HF1001 .B796
This eleven-volume set of basic level encyclopedias provides brief histories of high profile companies and industries in the United States.
View:   In Print Annotation

Business Rankings Annual

- HG4050 .B88
This annual survey provides current rankings of companies by size within industry and a variety of other criteira.
View:   In Print Annotation

Market Share Reporter; An Annual Compilation of Reported Market Share Data on Companies, Products, and Services

- HF5410 .M35 Ref.
Contains more than 2,000 entries for 511 NAICS (formerly SIC) codes, covering corporate, brand, product, service and commodity market shares for both the private and public sectors.  This is a source for competitive analysis, but information should be verified with other, more primary sources (like annual reports).
View:   In Print Annotation

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys

- HC106.6 .S74
This is a premier and very current source for business students and professionals, providing basic data on 70 major industries arranged in 52 major groups.
View:   In Print Annotation

Create "alerts"

Stay current on news about your company or companies as it is happening by creating alerts. Most of our databases don't allow for this, but ABI/Inform is the exception. Do a search. Once you are satisfied with the results, scroll down to "Want to be notified of new results for this search?" You say yes, and are prompted to enter your e-mail and select the frequency with which you want results forwarded to you.

Another source you may want to try is Google News, which covers 4,500 news sources (not the magazines and journals covered by ABI/Inform). Again, do a search, and when you are happy with the results, scroll to the bottom of the page, select "Get alerts," and provide an e-mail.

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470