Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Guides for Finding' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402

Guides for Finding Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Articles

In Print

Hekman Library subscribes to over 20 newspapers in print. These are located in the 3rd floor Current Periodicals area, with current issues retained anywhere from two weeks to three months.


On the Web


Search Google News for current news. Also try Google News Archive.

The Internet Public Library has a comprehensive list of newspaper web-editions arranged by region.

NOTE: Newspaper content on the web may vary from the newspaper's print version, and retrieving articles can sometimes involve a fee. Before you pay for an article, first check to see if it is available through one of the library's subscription newspaper databases, or if we own it in print or microfilm.

Newspaper Databases

Search the following newspaper databases for full-text articles:

You will also find full-text newspaper articles in these general databases (choose the "News" tab from your search results):

Print Indexes for Newspapers

The library subscribes to several print indexes for major and local newspapers. These are useful for locating citations for older articles that may be out of the date range of online databases. (Older issues of these newspapers can be found in the 2nd floor Microforms area.)

  • Christian Science Monitor - Ref AN1. C46 (1962 to current)
  • Grand Rapids Press - Ref AN5 .G632 (1893-1931, 1992 to current)
  • New York Times - Ref AI21 . N44 (1851 to current)
  • Wall Street Journal - Ref AI21 .W2 (1975 to current)

Looking for articles from a specific newspaper?  

Read our guides for the New York Times and the Grand Rapids Press (see links above), or ask a librarian for assistance with other newspapers.

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470