Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Guides for Finding' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• Sermons on the Web ­ • Biographical Information ­ • Census Information ­ • Dissertations ­ • Federal Government Information ­ • Government Documents ­ • Laws (U.S.) ­ • Patents ­ • Subject Encyclopedias ­ • Theater Reviews ­

Guides for Finding Subject Encyclopedias

What are Subject Encyclopedias?

Subject encyclopedias are sometimes called special encyclopedias because they cover specialized topics rather than broad, general topics. Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is a subject encyclopedia.

Articles in subject encyclopedias will summarize the major issues regarding a topic and will often provide a selective bibliography of the most important books and articles that have been written about the topic. The library has print and online encyclopedias on hundreds of different subjects. Most of these can be found in the reference collection on the 2nd Floor of the library. Encyclopedias on theological topics are located on the 4th Floor in Theological Reference.

Searching WebCat for Subject Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia search

The screenshot above shows one way to search for subject encyclopedias. You may want to follow these simple steps:

  • Go to WebCat advanced search.
  • Limit your location to either REFERENCE or THEO-REF, depending on which collection you want to search.
  • Type "encyclopedias" in one of the search boxes and select subject search.
  • Add your topic words and then do either a words or phrase or a subject search. You'll likely get more results by doing the words or phrase search.

Subject Encyclopedias Online

The Hekman Library owns many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries in electronic form. Some of the more extensive ones, all published by Oxford University Press, are listed below with links to the full text content:

Notice that the word "dictionary" may sometimes be used for a resource that is encyclopedic in nature, as in the last example.

Another way to find subject encyclopedias or dictionaries online is to do a WebCat advanced search, limit your format to Electronic book, do a title search for the term "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" and last, enter your topic words. You will likely find many books in our netLibrary collection on everything from abbreviations to zoology.

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470