Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Guides for Finding' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402

Guides for Finding Theater Reviews

Listed below with search hints are suggested research databases, websites, reference books and journals related to theater reviews.

Research databases

Citations and full-text information regarding theater can be found in the Hekman Library's Research Databases. Some recommended databases are listed below. Keep in mind the potential spelling variations of your search terms. (ie: theater, theatre) Also, when you find a citation which is useful take advantage of the searchable links in the "subject" and "descriptor" field.

InfoTrac OneFile
Contains many full text reviews from journals 1980 to the present
Type in "theater review" as keyword, and the author or title of the work.
LexisNexis Academic
Includes reviews from New York Times,Variety, Salon.com and many other newspapers. Contains full text from 1980 to present.
Select "Arts & sports news" in Step One; then choose "Book, movie, music and play reviews" in Step Two. Type in the title or author of the work and the keyword "review."
New York Times
Provide full text for the last 365 days.
Results can be found searching the title or author of the work as keyword, or search "theater review" as a keyword along with a date .
Newspapers (150 Full Text, InfoTrac)
Covers the last twelve months of 120 newspapers in full text.
Results can be found searching the title or author of the work as keyword, or search "theater review" as a keyword along with a date .
Wilson Select Plus
Contains full text reviews from 400 periodicals from 1994 to present.
Search for the title or author of the work as keyword, along with "theater review."

 Reviews on the Web:

Much of the recent activity relating to theater can be found on theater websites. Here are some recommended websites for finding theater reviews:

New York Times Theater--extensive selection of reviews from the present and the past. May require website user registration..
Online Review London- Theatre Reviews-- Online Review London is an internet review magazine for the performing arts in London. It mainly covers theatre, ballet, and other forms of dance.
Theater Resources from Artslynx International Arts Resources--This is a unique online resource. It is especially useful as a means of encouraging discussion on theatre arts heritage. Find reviews under "Theatre Topics."
Theatre Reviews Limited-- a source for reviews of many of the shows currently running in Manhattan as well as in New Jersey and around the United States. You will also find listings of other shows that are on tour. Theatre Reviews Limited has an extensive archive of reviews.
The WWW Virtual Library of Theatre and Drama-- Here you will find pointers to resources in more than 50 countries around the world, for professionals, amateurs, academics and students of all ages. This site is multi-cultural and multi-lingual.

Reference Books

There are many printed resources relating to theater. Found on the 2nd Floor of the Hekman Library in the Reference section, these resources will provide reviews for older works. Here is a short list of some of the most commonly used titles:

The Cambridge Guide to Theatre PN2035 .C27 1995
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television (vols.1-60+) PN2285 .C58
Dramatists Sourcebook (part 3, chapter 2, for suggested online resources) PN2289 .D73 2001
New York Times Theater Reviews

PN2266 .N48

Oxford Companion to American Theatre, 3rd ed. PN2220 .B6 2004
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance (2 vols.) PN2035 .O94 2003

 Print collections of reviews in Hekman Library:

Search WebCat using the Browse and Subject heading: "Theater-- United States-- Reviews" to find collections of reviews by critics.

Theater Journals

Theater related journals and other resources can be found on the library shelves in the call number range of roughly PN 2000 through PN 3000.

Below is a list of some titles you may find useful for locating reviews. Check these journals and magazines and their ejournal equivalents. Search for the journal title in WebCat, the Hekman Library's online catalog. Type in the title of the journal click "Periodical Title" to check the availability of each title.

American Theater
online
Educational Theatre Journal
PN3171 .E38
Journal of American Culture E169.1 .J7
Performing Arts Journal PN2000 .P44

TDR: the Drama Review

PN1601 .T8
The New Yorker AP2 .N67
Theater Journal PN3171 .E38

Other possible sources for reviews include major newspapers or weekly news magazines such as:

  • Atlantic Monthly
  • Christian Century
  • Nation
  • New Republic
  • New York Times
  • Newsweek
  • Time
  • Variety

Still looking for that elusive review?

Ask the librarian at the Research Assistance Desk on 2nd floor.

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470