Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Religion and Theology Resources' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• New Group Study Area ­ • Databases and Indexes ­ • Biblical Studies ­ • Bible Commentaries ­ • Church History ­ • Christian Theology ­ • Christian Denominations ­ • Sermons on the Web ­ • World Christianity ­ • World Religions ­ • Practical Theology ­ • Finding Dissertations ­

Religion and Theology Resources Biblical Studies

Bibliographic Resources

Databases

ATLA Religion Database
An index to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews on topics in biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Calvin's library owns the majority of the indexed journals. The database also provides full-text links to journal articles and book reviews from over 60 publications, 1949 to the present (through the ATLA Serials project [ATLAS]).

Religious & Theological Abstracts
R&TA currently abstracts more than 400 journals, with summaries produced by a team of scholars from around the world. English language abstracts are provided for articles in French, German, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Afrikaans, Hebrew, Italian, and Spanish.

BILDI Bibelwissenschaftliche Literaturdokumenation Innsbruck
Index of biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, published in articles, collected works and monographs; since 1990 including references to book reviews. ( bildi.uibk.ac.at )

Review of Biblical Literature
A collection of reviews of monographic literature (as well as reference works, commentaries, dictionaries, and biblical translations) in the field of biblical and related studies. Published by the Society of Biblical Literature.

Print Indexes

Old Testament Abstracts. 1978- . ThRef Indexes BS410 .045

New Testament Abstracts. 1956- . ThRef Indexes BS410 .N35

Elenchus of Biblica. 1968- . ThRef Indexes BS410 .B72

International Review of Biblical Studies / Internationale Zeitschriftenschau für Bibelwissenschaft und Grenzgebiete. 1951- . ThRef Indexes Z7770 .I57

Print Bibliographies

An Annotated Guide to Biblical Resources for Ministry. David R. Bauer. Peabody, Mass.: Hendrikson, 2003. ThRef Z7770 .B38 2003

Bibliographies for Biblical Research: Old Testament Series. 32 vols. David R. Bauer, ed. Lewiston, N.Y.: Mellen Biblical Press, 1997- . ThRef Z7772 .A1 B53 1997

Bibliographies for Biblical Research: New Testament Series. 21 vols. Watson E. Mills, ed. Lewiston, N.Y.: Mellen Biblical Press, 1993- . ThRef Z7772 .L1 B4 1993

New Testament Commentary Survey. 5th ed. D. A. Carson. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001. ThRef BS2341.2 .C33 2001

Old Testament Commentary Survey. 3rd ed.. Tremper Longman III. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2003. On Order

Research Guides  

Multipurpose Tools for Bible Study. Revised and expanded edition. Frederick W. Danker. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1993. 4th Floor BS 417 .D3 1993
Although somewhat dated, this is a good aid to the selection and use of traditional research tools in biblical studies.

SBL Handbook of Style for Ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies. Ed. Patrick H. Alexander, et al. Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson Publishers, 1999. Ref PN147 .S26 1999

"Student Supplement to the SBL Handbook of Style." Ed. Joel M. Lemon, comp. by Melanie Greer Nogalski, et al. A 21-page digital supplement with guidelines focussed especially on term papers and some items not covered by the above SBL Handbook of Style.

SBL Citation Builder - A bibliographic citation generator designed and maintained by Pitts Theological Library (Emory University) based on the SBL Handbook of Style . You may find Calvin's own KnightCite more helpful for some bibliographic formats.

Internet Resources

Bible Gateway, multi-language, multi-version Bible concordance

NT Gateway, New Testament resources on the Internet, maintained by Mark Goodacre, University of Birmingham, UK

Resource Pages for Biblical Studies, maintained by Torrey Seland, Volda University College, Volda, Norway

Etana: Ancient Near Eastern web resources ( www.etana.org )

Biblical Introductions 

Old Testament

Introduction to the Old Testament as Scripture. Brevard S. Childs. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1979. 4th Floor BS1140.2 .C48 1979

An Introduction to the Old Testament. Raymond Dillard and Tremper Longman III. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1994. 4th Floor BS1140.2 .D55 1994

Survey of the Old Testament. Andrew E. Hill and John H. Walton.. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids, Zondervan, 2000. 4th Floor BS1140.2 .H54 2000

New Testament

An Introduction to the New Testament. Raymond E. Brown. New York: Doubleday, 1997. 4th Floor BS2330.2 .B76 1997

Introduction to the New Testament. D. A. Carson, Douglas J. Moo, and Leon Morris. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1992. 4th Floor BS2330.2 .C34 1992

Bible Dictionaries 

Anchor Bible Dictionary. 6 vols. David Noel Freedman, ed. New York: Doubleday, 1992. ThRef BS440 .A54 1992

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. David Noel Freedman, ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000. ThRef BS440 .E44 2000

The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary. Paul J. Achtemeier, ed. Revised edition. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1996. ThRef BS440 .H235 1996

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia. 4 vols. Geoffrey W. Bromiley, ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1995. ThRef BS440 .I6

New Bible Dictionary. 3nd ed. J. D. Douglas, original editor; D. R. W. Wood, revision editor. Downers Grove, Ill.: Intervarsity Press, 2001. ThRef BS440 .N42 2001.

The Oxford Companion to the Bible. Bruce M. Metzger and Michael D. Coogan, eds. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1993. ThRef BS440 .M434 1993 [ also available online ]
Useful as a handy reference work, but not as the basis for further study. No bibliographies for individual entries.

Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Leland Ryken, James C. Wilhoit, and Tremper Longman III, eds. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1998. ThRef and MRC BS537 .D48 1998

Bible Commentaries

Use the link above to see a listing of a variety of recommended commentaries selected from the hundreds of commentaries in the library's collection

Archaeology 

The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land. 4 vols. Ephraim Stern, ed. Jerusalem: Israel Exploration Society & Carta; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1993. Ref DS111 .A2 N488 1993

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Ancient Near East. 5 vols. Eric M. Meyers, ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. Ref DS56 .O9 1997

Bible Atlases 

The Macmillan Bible Atlas. 3rd ed. Yohanan Aharoni and Michael Avi-Yonah. New York: Macmillan, 1993. ThRef BS635.2 .A33 1993

The Collegeville Atlas of the Bible. Marcus Braybrooke. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 1998. ThRef BS635.2 .B73 1998

The Harper Atlas of the Bible. James B. Pritchard, ed. New York: Harper & Row, 1987. Ref G2230 .H47 1987

Tübingen Bible Atlas: based on the Tübingen Atlas of the Near and Middle East. Siegfried Mittman and Götz Schmitt. Stuttgart: Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, 2001. ThRef BS630 .T8 2001

Theological Dictionaries  

Old Testament

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. vol. 1- . G. Johannes Botterweck, et al., eds. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1977- . ThRef BS440 .T45 En

Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament. Ernst Jenni and Claus Westermann, eds. Trans. Mark E. Biddle. 3 vols. Peabody, MA:Hendrickson, 1997. ThRef BS440 .T4813 1997

New Testament

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Gerhard Kittel and Gerhard Friedrich, eds. Trans. G. Bromiley. 10 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1985. ThRef PA881 .T4713 1985

New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology. 3 vols. Colin Brown, ed. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1975. ThRef BS2397.N48

Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. 3 vols. Horst Balz and Gerhard Schneider, eds. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1990-1993. ThRef BS2312 .E913 1990

Greek and Hebrew Linguistic Tools  

The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. 5 vols. Walther Baumgartner, Ludwig Koehler, and Johan Jakob Stamm. Leiden: Brill, 1994. ThRef PJ4833 .K61813 1994

The New Brown, Driver, Briggs, Gesenius Hebrew and English Lexicon : with an appendix containing the Biblical Aramaic.(BDB) Francis Brown. Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson Publishers, 1979. ThRef PJ4833 .B683 1979

A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. (BDAG) Frederick William Danker, ed. 3rd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000. ThRef PA881 .D27 2000

Biblical Theology

New Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Desmond Alexander, ed. Leicester, UK, and Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2001. ThRef BS440 .N437 2000

Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. 2nd ed. Walter A. Elwell, ed. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001. ThRef BS440 .E78 2001

Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. Joel B. Green and Scot McKnight, eds. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1992. ThRef and 4th Floor collection BS2555.2 .D53 1992

Dictionary of Paul and His Letters. Gerald F. Hawthorne and Ralph P. Martin, eds. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1993. ThRef and 4th Floor collection BS2650.2 .D53 1993

Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments. Ralph P. Martin and Peter H. Davids, eds. Downers Grove, Ill.: Intervarsity Press, 1997. ThRef and 4th Floor collection BS2625.5 .D53 1997

Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. Kevin J. Vanhoozer, ed. London: SPCK; Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2005. ThRef BS440 .D495 2005
The DTIB "aims to provide clarification, analysis, and evaluation of the various approaches to biblical interpretation currently in the marketplace, with a view to assessing their theological significance--in particular, their value for reading Scripture in and for the community of the faithful"(19).

 

History of Interpretation and Hermeneutics 

Cambridge History of the Bible. 3 vols. Peter R. Ackroyd, et al., eds. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1963-70 4th Floor BS445.C26

A Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation. R. J. Coggins and J. L. Houlden, eds. London: SCM; Philadelphia: Trinity Press International, 1990. ThRef BS440 .D494 1990

Bible Interpreters of the Twentieth Century: A Selection of Evangelical Voices. Walter A. Elwell and J. D. Weaver, eds. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1999. 4th Floor BS501 .A1 B53 1999

Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation. 2 vols. John H. Hayes, ed. Nashville: Abingdon, 1999. ThRef BS500 .D5 1999

A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature. David Lyle Jeffrey, ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans, 1992. ThRef and Ref PR149 .B5 D53 1992
This work has helpful and well-organized annotated bibliographies of biblical studies, historical studies of biblical hermeneutics, and biblical commentaries used by authors of English literature on pages 859-960,

Historical Handbook of Major Biblical Interpreters. Donald K. McKim, ed. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1998. ThRef BS501 .A1 H57 1998

Hebrew Bible, Old Testament: The History of Its Interpretation. 3 vols. Magne Saebo, ed. Göttingen: Vandenhoeck and Ruprecht, 1996- . BS1160 .H438 1996

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470