Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Religion and Theology Resources' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• New Group Study Area ­ • Databases and Indexes ­ • Biblical Studies ­ • Bible Commentaries ­ • Church History ­ • Christian Theology ­ • Christian Denominations ­ • Sermons on the Web ­ • World Christianity ­ • World Religions ­ • Practical Theology ­ • Finding Dissertations ­

Religion and Theology Resources Christian Theology

Theological Terminology

Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms. Donald K. McKim. Louisville: WJK, 1996. ThRef BR95 .M378 1996
Also available as an e-book through NetLibrary: Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms (See note on Calvin access to netLibrary).

101 Key Terms in Philosophy and Their Importance for Theology. Kelly James Clark, Richard Smith, and James K. A. Smith. Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press, 2004. ThRef BR100 .C5415 2004

Dictionary of Latin and Greek Theological Terms: Drawn Principally from Protestant Scholastic Theology. Richard A. Muller. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1985. ThRef BR95 .M86 1985

A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names. Garth Kemerling.

History of Doctrine 

Dictionary of Historical Theology. Trevor A. Hart, ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000. ThRef BT21.2 .D53 2000

Creeds and Confession of Faith in the Christian Tradition. 3 vols. Jaroslav Pelikan and Valerie Hotchkiss, eds. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2003. ThRef BT990 .C653 2003

Contemporary Theology 

Oxford Companion to Christian Thought. Adrian Hastings, Alistair Mason, and Hugh Pyper, eds. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000. ThRef BR95 .O7 2000

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought. Alister McGrath, ed. Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell, 1993. ThRef BR95 .B58 1993

Cambridge Companion to Christian Doctrine. Colin E. Gunton, ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997. 4th floor BT80 .C29 1997

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias 

Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. 2nd ed. Walter A. Elwell, ed. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001.

New Dictionary of Theology. Sinclair B. Ferguson, David F. Wright, and J. I. Packer, eds. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1988. ThRef BR95 .N38 1988.

New Dictionary of Theology. Joseph A. Komonchak., et al., eds. Wilmington, Del.: Glazier, 1987. ThRef BR95 .N382 1987

Theological Traditions

Protestant

A Reader’s Guide to Reformed Literature: An Annotated Bibliography of Reformed Theology. Joel R. Beeke. Grand Rapids: Reformation Heritage Books, 2001. ThRef Z7845 .R4 B4 1999

Westminster Handbook to Reformed Theology. Donald K. McKim, ed. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2001. 4th floor BX9406 .W47 2001

Roman Catholic

Handbook of Catholic Theology. Wolfgang Beinert and Francis Schüssler Fiorenza, eds. New York: Crossroad, 1995. ThRef BX1745.5 .L4913 1995

The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism. Richard P. McBrien, ed. New York: HarperCollins, 1995. ThRef BX841 .H37 1995

Encyclopedia of Theology: The Concise Sacramentum Mundi. Karl Rahner, ed. Reprint. New York: Seabury, 1986. ThRef BR95 .E48

Eastern Orthodox 

The Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity. Ken Parry, et al., eds. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999. ThRef BX100.7 .B53 1999

Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church. Michael Prokurat, ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996. ThRef BX230 .P76 1996

Christian Ethics 

New Dictonary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology. David J. Atkinson and David H. Fields, eds. Downers Grove, Ill.: Intervarsity Press, 1995. Ref BJ1199 .N495 1995

Encyclopedia of Ethics. 2nd ed. 3 vols. Lawrence Becker and Charlotte B. Becker, eds. New York: Garland, 2001. Ref BJ63 .E45 2001

The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics. James F. Childress and John Macquarrie, eds. Philadelphia: Westminster, 1986. Ref BJ1199 .W47 1986

The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics. Stanley Hauerwas and Samuel Wells, eds. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 2004. 4th floor BJ1251 .B56 2004

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470