Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Religion and Theology Resources' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402

Religion and Theology Resources Church History

Bibliographic Resources

Databases:

Historical Abstracts

ATLA Religion Database

Religious & Theological Abstracts

Calvinism Resources Database (CARD)

America: History & Life

IMB: International Medieval Bibliography

ITER Gateway to the Middles Ages & Renaissance

Bibliographic Information Base in Patristics (BIBP) Index of over 31,000 "documents" from periodicals, collections of essays. Created and directed by R.-M. Roberge at Université Laval, Québec.

Print Indexes:

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. ThRef Indexes Z7837 .C3

Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. ThRef Indexes BR1 .A1 E55

Print Bibliographies:

Church History: An Introduction to Research, Reference Works, and Methods. James E. Bradley and Richard A. Muller. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1995. 4th floor BR138 .B69 1995

Theological and Religious Reference Materials. Vol. 2: Systematic Theology and Church History. G. E. Gorman and Lyn Gorman. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1985. ThRef Z7751 .G63 1984

Reference Works for Theological Research. 3rd ed. Robert J. Kepple and John R. Muether. Lanham, Md.: University Press of America, 1992. ThRef Z7751 .K46 1992

Internet Resources 

General:

The Catholic Encyclopedia (1st ed., 1913)

Early Church:

The ECOLE Initiative (Early Church Online Encyclopedia)

Medieval Church:

ORB (Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies)

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies

The Reformation:

H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies 

General Reference Works 

The Encyclopedia of Christianity. 5 vols.projected. Geoffrey Bromiley, ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans; Leiden: Brill, 1999- . ThRef BR95 .E8913 1999

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed, revised. F. L. Cross and E. A. Livingstone, eds. London and New York: Oxford, 2005. ThRef BR 95 .O9 2005.

New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. 14 vols. Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America, 2003. ThRef BX841 .N44 2003
(Online version of the Catholic Encyclopedia, 1st edition, 1913)

Encyclopedia of Protestantism. 4 vols. Hans J. Hillerbrand, ed. New York: Routledge, 2004. ThRef BX4811.3 .E53 2004

The New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge. 15 vols. Samuel Macauley Jackson, ed. New York: Funk and Wagnalls, 1908-1914. ThRef BR95 .S43
(CCEL online version)

The Baker Atlas of Christian History. Tim Dowley, ed. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1997. ThRef BR98 .D69 1997

Biographical Resources 

Dictionary of Christian Biography. Michael Walsh, ed. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2001. ThRef BR1700.3 .D53 2001

Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals. Tim Larson, ed. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2003. ThRef BV3780 .B56 2003

Women in Christian History: A Bibliography. Carolyn DeArmond Blevins, ed. Macon, Ga.: Mercer University Press, 1995. ThRef Z7963 .R45 B45 1995

Dictionary of American Religious Biography. 2nd ed. Henry W. Bowden, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993. ThRef BL72 .B68 1993

Biographisch-Bibliographisches Kirchenlexicon

Oxford Dictionary of Saints. 2nd ed. David Hugh Farmer. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1987. ThRef BR1710 .F34 1987 [ 5th edition, 2003, available online ]

National Biographical Dictionaries:

Great Britain: Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. 60 vols. H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison, eds. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. Ref DA28 .D4 2004

United States: American National Biography. 24 vols. John A. Garraty and Mark C. Carnes, eds. New York: Oxford, 1998. Ref CT213 . A68 1998. Online version: American National Biography

Germany: Allgemeine/Neue Deutsche Biographie

The Early Church  

Encyclopedia of the Early Church. 2 vols. Angelo Di Beradino, ed New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. ThRef BR66.5 .D5813 1992

Dictionary of Early Christian Literature. Siegmar Döpp and Wilhelm Geerlings, eds. New York: Crossroad, 2000. ThRef BR66.5 .L4813 2000

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. 2nd ed. 2 vols. Everett Ferguson, ed. New York: Garland, 1997. ThRef BR162.2 .E53 1997

Patrology. 4 vols. Johannes Quasten, ed. Utrecht: Spectrum, 1950- ThRef BR67 .Q3

Handbook of Patristic Exegesis. 2 vols. Charles Kannengiesser.Leiden: Brill, 2004. ThRef BS500 .K34 2004

Patrologia Latina Database

The Medieval Church  

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 vols. Joseph R. Strayer, ed. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1982. (with Supplement 1, ed. William C. Jordan, 2004). Ref D114 .D5 1982

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. 2 vols. Andre Vauchez, ed. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. Ref D114 .E53 2000

Lexikon des Mittelalters. 9 vols. Robert Auty, ed. Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1999. Ref D101.5 .L49 1999

The Reformation and Post-Reformation Church  

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. 4 vols. Hillerbrand, Hans J., ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. ThRef BR302.8 .O93 1996. Also available online

The Reformation World. Andrew Pettegree, ed. New York: Routledge, 2000. 4th floor BR305.2 .P48 2000

A Companion to the Reformation World. R. Po-chia Hsia, ed. Oxford: Blackwell, 2004. Meeter BR309 .C62 2004

North American Church  

The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History. Michael Glazer and Thomas J. Shelley, eds. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 1997. ThRef BX1406.2 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Religion in the South. Samuel S Hill. Macon, Georgia.: Mercer University Press, 1984. ThRef BR535 .E52 1984

The Evangelicals: A Historical, Thematic, and Biographical Guide. Robert H. Krapohl and Charles H. Lippy. Westport, Conn., and London: Greenwood, 1999. BV3773 .K73 1999

Handbook of Denominations in the United States. 11th ed. Frank S. Mead and Samuel S. Hill. Nashville: Abingdon, 2001. ThRef BR516.5 .M38 2001

Encyclopedia of American Religions. 7th ed. J. Gordon Melton. Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale, 2003. ThRef BL2530 .U6 M443 2003

Dictionary of Christianity in America. Daniel G. Reid, ed. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1990. ThRef BR515 .D53 1990

North American Church Atlases

The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America. Bret. E. Carroll. New York and London: Routledge, 2000. Ref G1201 .E4 C3 2000

New Historical Atlas of Religion in America. Edwin Scott Gaustad and Philip L. Barlow. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. Ref G1201.E4 N4 2001

Atlas of American Religion: The Denominational Era, 1776-1990. William M. Newman, and Peter L. Halvorson. New York and Oxford: Altamira Press, 2000. ThRef BR515 .N49 2000

Resources for Christian Reformed Church History
A list of handbooks, directories, periodicals, synodical proceedings, monographs, and databases useful for the study of the history of the Christian Reformed Church

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470