Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Religion and Theology Resources' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• New Group Study Area ­ • Databases and Indexes ­ • Biblical Studies ­ • Bible Commentaries ­ • Church History ­ • Christian Theology ­ • Christian Denominations ­ • Sermons on the Web ­ • World Christianity ­ • World Religions ­ • Practical Theology ­ • Finding Dissertations ­

Religion and Theology Resources Databases and Indexes

Primary Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews on such topics as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues, many of which are available online full-text. Hekman Library owns the majority of the indexed journals.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Includes citations to many articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals not indexed in the ATLA Religion Database, as well as to papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith, authored by Catholics, or produced by Catholic publishers. Includes links to digital full-text of many articles

 

Religious & Theological Abstracts
R&TA currently abstracts more than 400 journals, with summaries produced by a team of scholars from around the world. English language abstracts are provided for articles in French, German, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Afrikaans, Hebrew, Italian, and Spanish.

Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles and essays in the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language

Christian Periodical Index
Includes citations to articles in many evangelical periodicals not indexed in ATLA or CPLI above.

Print Indexes

The Theological Indexes are located on the fourth floor of the library, on the far side of the current theological periodicals.

Elenchus Bibliographicus of the Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses 1957-
ThRef Indexes BR1 .A1 E55
Available electronically from 1998-present

Old Testament Abstracts. 1978- . ThRef Indexes BS410 .045

New Testament Abstracts. 1956- . ThRef Indexes BS410 .N35

Elenchus of Biblica. 1968- . ThRef Indexes BS410 .B72

International Review of Biblical Studies / Internationale Zeitschriftenschau für Bibelwissenschaft und Grenzgebiete. 1951- . ThRef Indexes Z7770 .I57

Primary Source Online Texts

English-Language Resources:

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO contains full-text images of over 109,000 books, pamphlets, and tracts published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English between 1475 and 1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
ECCO contains full-text images of over 150,000 publications published in the Great Britain or its colonies or in English between 1701-1800.

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans
Contains full-text images of nearly every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639-1800. (36,000 publications, 2.3 million pages)

Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker
Contains full-text images of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published from 1801-1819 (36,000 publications, 4 million pages).

Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)
Contains full-text of hundreds of classic Christian texts, including devotional literature, patristic sources, sermons, theological texts, and biblical studies.



Classical Language Resources:

Patrologia Latina Database
Jacques-Paul Migne's 19th-century Patrologia Latina, containing the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
A digital collection of most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.TLG currently provides access to 3,700 authors and 12,000 works.

 

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470