Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Religion and Theology Resources' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• New Group Study Area ­ • Databases and Indexes ­ • Biblical Studies ­ • Bible Commentaries ­ • Church History ­ • Christian Theology ­ • Christian Denominations ­ • Sermons on the Web ­ • World Christianity ­ • World Religions ­ • Practical Theology ­ • Finding Dissertations ­

Religion and Theology Resources Christian Denominations

Christian Denominations

Christian Denominations

General Statistics, Directories, & Guides

Protestant Denominations
Episcopal/Anglican
Reformed/Presbyterian
Lutheran
Baptist
Methodist
Pentecostal/Charismatic/Holiness
Mennonite, Anabaptist

Roman Catholic
Directories and Almanacs
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Papacy

Eastern Orthodoxy

Cults and New Religious Movements
-Mormonism
-Jehovah’s Witnesses

General Statistics, Directories, & Guides

American Religion Data Archive

Handbook of Denominations in the United States. 12th ed. Frank S. Mead, Samuel S. Hill, and Craig D. Atwood. Nashville: Abingdon, 2005. ThRef BR516.5 .M38 2005

Encyclopedia of American Religions. 7th ed. J. Gordon Melton. Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale, 2003. ThRef BL2530 .U6 M443 2003

Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches 2005. Eileen W. Lindner, ed. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2005. Th Ref BR513 .Y4 2005

World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World. 2nd ed. 2 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. ThRef BR157 .W67 2001

Protestant Denominations

Episcopal/Anglican

The History of the Episcopal Church in America, 1607-1991: A Bibliography. Sandra M. Caldwell and Ronald J. Caldwell. New York: Garland, 1993. ThRef Z7845 .A5 C34 1993

The SPCK Handbook of Anglican Theologians. Alister McGrath, ed. London: SPCK, 1998. ThRef BX5009 .S68 1998

The Episcopalians. David Hein and Gardiner H. Shattuck, Jr. Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2004. ThRef BX5930.3 .H45 2004

Historical Dictionary of Anglicanism. Colin Buchanan. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow, 2006. 554 pp. ThRef BX5007 .B83 2006
Includes appendix with bibliographic essay and classified bibliography.

Reformed/Presbyterian

The Reformed Family World-Wide : A Survey of Reformed Churches, Theological Schools, and International Organizations. Jean-Jacques Bauswein and Lukas Vischer, eds. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1999 ThRef and 4th fl. BX9422.2 .R44 1999

Historical Dictionary of Reformed Churches. Robert Benedetto, Drrell Guder, and Donald K. McKim. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999. ThRef BX9415 .B46 1999

Dictionary of the Presbyterian and Reformed Tradition in America. D. G. Hart and Mark Noll, eds. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1999. ThRef BX8909 .D53 1999

Westminster Handbook to Reformed Theology. Donald K. McKim, ed. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2001. 4th fl. BX9406 .W47 2001

Lutheranism

Lutheran Churches in the World: A Handbook. E. Theodore Bachmann and Mercia Brenne Bachmann. Minneapolis: Augsburg, 1989. ThRef BX8018 .B33 1989

The Encyclopedia of the Lutheran Church. 3 vols. Julius Bodensieck, ed. Minnapolis: Augsburg, 1965. ThRef BX8007 .B6

Historical Dictionary of Lutheranism. Günther Gassman. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001. ThRef BX8007 .G37 2001

World Lutheranism: A Select Bibliography for English Readers. Donald L. Huber. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2000. ThRef Z7845 .L9 H83 2000

Historical Guide to Lutheran Church Bodies of North America. 2nd ed. Robert C. Wiederaenders. St. Louis: Lutheran Historical Conference, 1998. ThRef BX8041 .W5 1998

Baptist

Historical Dictionary of the Baptists. William H. Brackney. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999. ThRef BX6211 .B73 1999

The Baptists. William H. Brackney. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. 4th fl. BX6235 .B628 1988

Baptist Theologians. Timothy George and David S. Dockery, eds. Nashville: Broadman, 1990. 4th fl. BX6331.2 .B29 1990

Dictionary of Baptists in America. Bill J. Leonard, ed. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1994. ThRef BX6211 .D53 1994

Baptist Atlas. Albert W. Wardin, Jr., cartography by Don Fields. Nashville: Broadman, 1980. ThRef BX6232 .W37

Baptists around the World: A Comprehensive Handbook. Albert W. Wardin, Jr., ed. Nashville: Broadman and Holman, 1995. ThRef BX6231 .B37 1995

Methodism

The Methodists. James E. Kirby, Russell E. Richey, and Kenneth E. Rowe. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996. 4th fl. BX8382.2 .A4 K57 1996

United Methodist Studies: Basic Bibliographies. 4th ed. Kenneth E. Rowe. Nashville: Abingdon, 1998. ThRef BX8331.2 .U54 1998

Historical Dictionary of Methodism. Charles Yrigoyen, Jr., and Susan E. Warrick. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996. ThRef BX8211 .H57 1996

A Dictionary of Methodism in Britain and Ireland. John A. Vickers, ed. London: Epworth Press, 2000. ThRef BX8211 .D52 2000

Pentecostal/Charismatic/Holiness

The New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements. Rev. and expanded ed. Stanley M. Burgess and Eduard M. van der Maas, eds.Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 2002. ThRef BR1644 .D53 2002

African-American Holiness Pentecostal Movement: An Annotated Bibliography. Sherry Sherrod DuPress. New York: Garland, 1996. ThRef BX8762.5 D87 1996

A Guide to the Study of the Pentecostal Movement. 2 vols. Charles Edwin Jones. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1985. ThRef BR1644 .H66 1983

The Charismatic Movement: A Guide to the Study of Neo-Pentecostalism with Emphasis on Anglo-American Sources. 2 vols. Charles Edwin Jones. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1995. ThRef Z7845 .P4 J663 1995

Historical Dictionary of the Holiness Movement. William C. Kostlevy, ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001. ThRef Z7990 .h6 h55 2001

Mennonite, Anabaptist

The Mennonite Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Reference Work on the Anabaptist-Mennonite Movement. 5 vols. Harold S. Bender, et al., eds. Hillsboro, Kans.: Mennonite Brethren Publishing House, 1955-1990. ThRef BX8106. M37

Anabaptist Bibliography, 1520-1630. Rev. ed. Hans H. Hillerbrand. St Louis: Center for Reformation Research, 1991. ThRef Z7845 .A4 H55 1991

Roman Catholic

Directories and Almanacs

The Catholic Church Today. Vol 1- . Bryan T. Froehle and Mary L. Gautier. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis, 2000- . ThRef BX 1406 .F74 2000

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The A to Z of Catholicism. William J. Collinge. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001. ThRef BX945.2 .C65 2001

The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism. James J. Buckley, et al., eds. Oxford: Blackwell, 2007. ThRef BX880 .B53 2007
Essays on Catholic history, cultures, doctrines, and practices.

Our Sunday Visitor’s Encyclopedia of Catholic History. Matthew Bunson. Huntington, Ind.: Our Sunday Visitor, 1995. ThRef BX945.2 .B86 1995

The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History. Michael Glazier and Thomas J. Shelley, eds. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 1997. ThRef BX1406.2 .E53 1997

Historical Dictionary of Catholicism. William J. Collinge. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997. ThRef BX945.2 C65 1997

Papacy

Chronicle of the Popes: The Reign-by-Reign Record of the Papacy from St. Peter to the Present. P. G. Maxwell-Stuart. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1997. 4th fl. BX955.2 .M387 1997

The Oxford Dictionary of Popes. J. N. D. Kelly. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986. ThRef BX 955.2 .K45 1986 [also available online]

Dictionary of Popes and the Papacy. Bruno Steimer and Michael G. Parker, eds., trans. Brian McNeil and Peter Heinigg. New York: Crossroad, 2001. ThRef BX955.3 .L4913 2001

Encyclopedia of the Vatican and Papacy. Frank J. Coppa, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. ThRef BX955.2 .E53 1999

The Papacy: An Encyclopedia. 3 vols. Philippe Levillain, ed. New York: Routledge, 2002. ThRef BX955.2 .D53 2002

Papal Encyclicals Online
Provides papal encyclicals and other Catholic Church documents from 1226 to the present. Papal encyclicals and other documents may be browsed by Pope or searched by keyword. Includes the full text of papal encyclicals, apostolic letters, apostolic constitutions, apostolic exhortations, and other Papal communications.

Eastern Orthodoxy

The Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity. Ken Parry, et al., eds. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999. ThRef BX100.7 .B53 1999

Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church. Michael Prokurat, ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996. ThRef BX230 .P76 1996

The Coptic Encyclopedia. 8 vols. Aziz S. Atiya, ed. New York: Maxwell Macmillan Inernational, 1991. ThRef BX130.5 .C66 1991

Cults and New Religious Movements

Adherents.Com 

Sects, “Cults,” and Alternative Religions: A World Survey and Sourcebook. David V. Barrett. London: Blandford, 1996. ThRef BP603 .B37 1996

Charts of Cults, Sects, and Religious Movements. H. Wayne House. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000. ThRef BR516.5 .H68 2000

The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects and New Religious Movements. James R. Lewis. Amherst, N.Y.: Prometheus Books, 1998. ThRef BL2525 .L49 1998

Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements. George D. Chryssides. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001. ThRef BP601 .C47 2001

Peculiar Prophets: A Biographical Dictionary of New Religions. James R. Lewis. St. Paul, Minn.: Paragon House, 1999. ThRef BL72 .L48 1999

Mormonism

Historical Dictionary of Mormonism. Davis Bitton. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2000. ThRef BX8605.5 .B588 2000

Mormon History. Ronald W. Walker, David J. Whittaker, and James B. Allen. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2001. 4th fl. BX8611 .W34 2001

Studies in Mormon History, 1830-1997: An Indexed Bibliography. James B. Allen, Ronald W. Walker, and David J. Whittaker. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2000. ThRef Z7845 .M8 A44 2000

The Book of Mormon. Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia.

Jehovah’s Witnesses 

Jehovah’s Witnesses: Portrait of a Contemporary Religious Movement. Andrew Holden. London: Routledge, 2002. Rare Book BX8526 .H65 2002

Jehovah’s Witnesses: A Comprehensive and Selectively Annotated Bibliography. Jerry Bergman. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. Rare Book Z7845 .J45 B46 1999

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470