Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Religion and Theology Resources' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• New Group Study Area ­ • Databases and Indexes ­ • Biblical Studies ­ • Bible Commentaries ­ • Church History ­ • Christian Theology ­ • Christian Denominations ­ • Sermons on the Web ­ • World Christianity ­ • World Religions ­ • Practical Theology ­ • Finding Dissertations ­

Religion and Theology Resources Practical Theology

General Bibliography

Theological and Religious Reference Materials. Vol. 3: Practical Theology. G. E. Gorman and Lyn Gorman. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1986. ThRef Z7751 .G632 1986

Practical Theology: History, Theory, Action Domains. Gerben Heitink. Trans. Reinder Bruinsma. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000. 4th floor BV3 .H4513 1999

Pastoral Care and Counseling 

History of Pastoral Care. G. R. Evans, ed. London: Cassell, 2000. 4th floor BV4006 .H53 2000

The New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies. Wesley Carr, ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2002. ThRef BV4005.5 .N48 2002

Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling. Rodney J. Hunter, ed. Nashville: Abingdon, 2005. ThRef BV4011.3 .D53 2005

Worship and Music 

The New Westminster Dictionary of Liturgy and Worship. J. G. Davies, ed. Philadelphia: Westminster, 1986. ThRef BV173 .N49 1986

The New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship. Peter E. Fink, ed. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 1990. ThRef BV173 .N485 1990

Dictionary of the Liturgy. Jovian Lang. New York: Catholic Book Pub., 1989. ThRef BV173 .L26 1989

A Dictionary of Liturgical Terms. Philip H. Pfatteicher. Philadelphia: Trinity Press International, 1991. ThRef BV173 ,O42 1991

A Bibliography of Christian Worship. Bard Thompson, ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1989. ThRef and MRC Z7813 .B5 1988

The Complete Library of Christian Worship. 7 vols. Robert E. Webber, ed. Nashville: Star Song Pub., 1993. ThRef BV15 .C63

Worship Music: A Concise Dictionary. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2000. Ref ML102 .C5 W67 2000

Christian Hymnody in Twentieth-Century Britain and America: An Annotated Bibliography. David W. Music. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2001. Ref ML128 .H8 M87 2001

Church Music: An International Bibliography. Richard Chaffey von Ende. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1980. Ref ML128 .C54

Preaching 

Concise Encyclopedia of Preaching. William H. Willimon and Richard Lischer, eds. Westminster John Knox Press, 1995. ThRef BV4211.2 .C583 1995

The Reading and Preaching of the Scriptures in the Worship of the Christian Church. Vol. 1: The Biblical Period. Vol. 2: The Patristic Age. Vol. 3: The Medieval Church. Vol. 4: The Age of the Reformation. Vol. 5: Moderatism, Piety, and Awakening. Hughes Oliphant Old. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1998-2004. 4th floor BV4207 .O43 1998

Religious Education

Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education. Michael J. Anthony, ed. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001. ThRef and MRC BV1461 .E93 2001

The Church as Learning Community: A Comprehensive Guide to Christian Education. Norma Cook Everist. Nashville: Abingdon, 2002. MRC BV1471.3 .E44 2002

Religious Education, 1960-1993: An Annotated Bibliography. D. Campbell Wyckoff and George Brown, eds. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995. ThRef Z7849 .W94 1995

Religious Education between Modernization and Globalization: New Perspectives on the United States and Germany. Richard R. Osmer and Friedrich Schweitzer. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2003. 4th floor BV1467 .O86 2003

Christian Spirituality 

The Blackwell Companion to Christian Spirituality. Arthur Holder, ed. Oxford: Blackwell Publishing, 2005. 4th floor BV4501.3 .B535 2005

  • An interdisciplinary, ecumenical companion guide which defines "Christian spirituality" broadly as "the lived experience of Christian faith and discipleship." Essays in the volume deal with the study of Christian spirituality, biblical foundations, historical developments, theological perspectives and selected special topics.

Spirituality: Forms, Foundations, Methods. Kees Waaijman. Trans. John Vriend. Leuven: Peeters, 2002. 4th floor BL624 .W25 2002

Spiritual Theology: The Theology of Yesterday for Spiritual Help Today. Diogenes Allen. Cambridge: Cowley, 1997. 4th floor BV4501.2 .A34 1997

The Study of Spirituality. Cheslyn Jones, et al., eds. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986. 4th floor BV4490 .S78 1986

The New Westminster Dictionary of Christian Spirituality. Philip Sheldrake, ed. Philadelphia: Westminster, 2005. ThRef BV4488 .N49 2005
"First published in Great Britain in 2005 under the title The new SCM dictionary of Christian spirituality."

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470