Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Religion and Theology Resources' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402
• Religion and Theology ­ • New Group Study Area ­ • Databases and Indexes ­ • Biblical Studies ­ • Bible Commentaries ­ • Church History ­ • Christian Theology ­ • Christian Denominations ­ • Sermons on the Web ­ • World Christianity ­ • World Religions ­ • Practical Theology ­ • Finding Dissertations ­

Religion and Theology Resources World Christianity

Bibliographic Resources

ATLA Religion Database
Journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews on such topics as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Calvin's library owns the majority of the indexed journals. The database also provides full-text links to journal articles and book reviews from over 60 publications, 1949 to the present (through the ATLA Serials project [ATLAS]).

Bibliography on Mission Studies (Cumulative Bibliography of the International Review of Mission). Margaret M. Acton, ed.

 

Statistics, Almanacs, Directories and Atlases 

World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World. 2nd ed. 2 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. ThRef BR157 .W67 2001

World Churches Handbook: Based on the Operation World Database by Patrick Johnstone, WEC International, 1993. P. W. Brierley. London: Christian Research, 1997. ThRef BV2050 .W55 1997

Operation World. 21st century edition. Patrick Johnstone and Jason Mandryk. Carlisle, Cumbria, UK: Paternoster Lifestyle, 2001. ThRefBV4811 .J596 2001

Adherents.Com

Atlas of World Christianity: 2000 Years. P. W. Brierley and Heather Wraight. Nashville, Tenn.: Nelson, 1998.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

A Dictionary of Asian Christianity. Scott W. Sunquist, ed. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans, 2001. ThRef BR1065 .D52 2001

Asian Christian Theologies: A Research Guide to Authors, Movements, Sources. Vol. 1, Asia Region 7th-20th Centuries; South Asia; Austral Asia. Vol. 2, Southeast Asia. Vol. 3, Northeast Asia. John England, et al., eds. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis Books, 2002-2004. ThRef BT30 .A8 A74 2003
Arranged by region and country, with bio-bibliographic information on past and present theologians as well as bibliographies of organizations and trends in contextual Asian theology.

The New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements. Rev. and expanded ed. Stanley M. Burgess and Eduard M. van der Maas, eds. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 2002. ThRef BR1644 .D53 2002

Dictionary of African Christian Biography. Jonathan J. Bonk, project director.

Christian Missions

Mission Handbook 2001-2003: U.S. and Canadian Christian Ministries Overseas. 18th ed. John A. Siewert and Dotsey Welliver, eds. Wheaton, Ill.: Billy Graham Center, Wheaton College, 2000. MRC BV2050 .N4 2000

Biographical Dictionary of Christian Missions. Gerald H. Anderson, ed. New York: Macmillan, 1998. BV3700 .B56 1998

Evangelical Dictionary of World Missions. A. Scott Moreau, ed. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2000.BV2040 .E92 2000

Philosophy, Science, and Theology of Mission in the 19th and 20th Centuries: A Missiological Encyclopedia. Part I: The Philosophy and Science of Mission. 2nd rev. edition. Jan A. B. Jongeneel. Frankfurt a.M.: Peter Lang, 2002. ThRef BV2040 .J64 2002

Dictionary of Mission: Theology, History, Perspectives. Karl Müller, ed. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis, 1997. ThRef BV2040 .L4813 1997

Ecumenics 

Dictionary of the Ecumenical Movement. 2nd ed. Nicholas Lossky, et al., eds. Geneva: WCC Publications, 2002. ThRef BX6.3 .D53 2002

Historical Dictionary of Ecumenical Christianity. Ans Joachim van der Bent. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994. ThRef BX6.3 .V36 1994

gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470