Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

More 'Guides for Finding' Pages

The Hekman Library
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402

Guides for Finding Industry Information

Finding Industry Information

Industry

The Hekman Library supports its business faculty and students through print and online access to many sources of information on industries worldwide. While there are many paths to collecting this kind of information, we recommend the following steps to best utilize the resources available to you at Calvin:

1. Identify the industry.

2. Obtain industry surveys.

3. Obtain reliable statistics: historical, trends, forecasts.

4. Locate news and in-depth articles

1. Identify the Industry

 
Government statistics and industry reports are arranged and indexed by NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) code, formerly known as the Standard Industrial Classification or SIC code. The NAICS is searchable online at NAICS 2002. Reviewing the code categories will also help you think about how narrowly you may want to scale your industry search. For example, do you want to research the whole computer industry, or just laptops?

2. Obtain Industry Surveys

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys

This is a premier and very current source for business students and professionals, providing basic data on 70 major industries arranged in 52 major groups. It provides comparative financial data for major companies within each industry and includes text and summary statistics (including norms and ratios) in a basic and current analysis for each group.

Available in print: HC106.6 .S74

U. S. International Trade Commission

The Office of Trade and Industry Specific Information within the International Trade Administration offer industry-specific data as follows:

Industry Trends Tables

TradeStats Express

Manufacturing and Services industry offices data pages:

Business and Industry

- HF1001 .B796
This eleven-volume set of basic level encyclopedias provides brief histories of high profile companies and industries in the United States.
View:   In Print Annotation

Business Rankings Annual

- HG4050 .B88
This annual survey provides current rankings of companies by size within industry and a variety of other criteira.
View:   In Print Annotation

Encyclopedia of American Industries

- HD102 .E53 Reference
Covers every industry recognized by the NAICS. Includes industry overview, current conditions, industry leaders, workforce, global marketplace, and recommended reading. This is not as current as Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys, but a very excellent place to begin.

View:   In Print

Business journals also offer industry surveys:

Many general business journals, like Business Week, Forbes, Fortune and Industry Week,  and industry-specific journals, like  offer special issues with industry outlooks and forecasts.  Either browse the print copies on the 3rd floor of the library or search in a database like ABI/Inform or LexisNexis described below.

Trade Associations

Finally, industry specific trade associations are an excellent place to go.  "Google" your industry by combining its name with +association.  One good example is the Business and Institutional Furniture Manufacturers Association (BIFMA) located right here in Grand Rapids.

Obtain Reliable Statistics: Historical, Trends, Forecasts


Data systematically collected by the U. S. government is a primary source for business people analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. The following statistical series are issued by the Bureau of the Census:

Source

Timing

Coverage

Economic Census

Every 5 years; 2007 data is still being gathered as of the fall of 2007 and will be published from 2009-2010.

Most detailed of the census data.

Covers manufacturing, wholesale trade, retail trade, mining, construction, and other industries up to a 7 digit NAICS code and reported by geographic areas.

Annual Survey of Manufactures

Annual in each of four years between the Economic Census.

Data is dated 2 years prior to year of publication.

Statistics for Industry Groups and Industries (up to 6-digit NAICS codes)

Value of Product Shipments

Geographic Area Statistics

Current Industrial Reports

Irregularly published throughout the year.

Only selected NAICS codes, but in very great detail. Potentially the most current source. Available as pdf and html files.

County Business Patterns

Annual.

Covers 6 digit NAICS codes by county and state: employees, payroll, total number of establishments, and establishments by employee size.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Annual

Least detailed, but with historical trend data.

Two sources that provide an overall review of business conditions include:

Business Statistics of the United States. Annual. HC101.A131 222 Ref. -- Contains national income and product data, industrial production and capacity utilization by market and industry groups, income distribution, consumer income and spending, savings and investment, business sales and inventories, prices, energy, foreign trade, and industry profiles.

Survey of Current Business. Monthly. Current periodicals. 3rd floor. Also available online from 1994 to the present. -- A major source of current statistics in many areas of business. Covers such topics as general business indicators, trade, and finance.

 

STAT-USA. "a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government." This subscription database is only available in the Digital Resource Center.

 

Financial Data and Ratios

The following sources provide financial ratios and averages for selected industries. Each source provides slightly different data in a different format. RMA provides columns based on size for better comparisons. More industries are covered in Industry Norms, but it lacks the comparisons by size

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios . Annual HF5681.R25 I53 Ref. -- Key ratios and balance sheet data for retailing, manufacturing, wholesaling, mining, construction, transportation, and service lines of business arranged by two and four digit NAICS codes.

RMA (Risk Management Associates) Annual Statement Studies -- Composite financial data and key ratios on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. All issues are kept behind the circulation desk in Reserve Reading.

Business Articles & News

Use the Hekman Research Databases

ABI/INFORM -- An online index with abstracts to about 2000 titles, 808 full text, such as the Wall Street Journal (1984-present) and The Economist (1991–present). This is a high-quality, first choice business data base.

General Business File ASAP -- Special options at the bottom of the search page allow you to select a company, SIC, or Investext search.

InfoTrac OneFile -- Larger than and includes Introtrac’s General business File ASAP, but does not include the special options indicated above.

LexisNexis Academic -- This full text data base is a must for national and global industry research. Three approaches to locating industry news include:

(1) A simple search from the Quick News Search screen. Type in “television industry” in quotes to retrieve the phrase, space, China, to retrieve up to 125 of the most relevant news articles).

(2) A guided search. Select Business, Industry and Market, identify product line (e.g. televisions), add some qualifier (e.g. forecasts, American), select from the Industry pull down menu area of interest (e.g. electrical/electronic news). Select the period of time from which you want to retrieve results. You may want to conduct the same subject search from a different Industry (e.g., the pull down menu also contains Distribution, Retail & Wholesale, and Manufacturing and Engineering News, which may also contain relevant information).

(3) An alternative guided search. Select Business, Business News, a News Category (e.g. Business News), a News Source: Industry News, and enter your search terms. In this approach you can go back to the News Category drop down menu and select U. S. News or World News, as well as any of the other options. Select your time period.

Wilson Business Abstracts Provides online index with abstracts to about 600 titles, many in full text.

Wall Street Journal Index HG1.W2 Ref. -- See ABI/INFORM for online access to full text 1984 to the present.

McFadden, Linda

Acquisitions and Reference Librarian
Hekman Library L302 (616) 526-8455 lmm8@calvin.edu
gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470