Search

for

Live Help - Ask a Librarian Print Page

Google Scholar is a project to make scholarly material more widely available on the Web. It includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.  For more information, see Google Scholar: FAQ.


Accessing Google Scholar Materials through Hekman Library

Some materials you find through Google Scholar are available to anyone for free; others are available only in print at a library or through subscription databases, which we may or may not have access to through the Hekman Library. Look for the FullText @ Calvin link after a citation; this indicates that we have access to the electronic full-text.

If the FullText @ Calvin link is not displayed, the library still may have what is being cited (for example, it may be only in print). Search WebCat to determine availability.

Words of Caution

Google Scholar can be a helpful resource, but it should not be your only source for research. Keep in mind:

  • Google Scholar is still under development, or in "beta" version.
  • The library subscribes to dozens of specialized research databases that provide more sources than Google Scholar.
  • Research databases usually focus on one discipline or a related group of disciplines. For example, PsycINFO covers psychology and MEDLINE covers medicine. Google Scholar searches one large undifferentiated database.
  • Research databases provide sophisticated search options. For example, you can limit your search to human subjects in PsycINFO, chemical properties in SciFinder Scholar, or by medical treatment in MEDLINE. (Note: Google Scholar's Advanced Search still will not provide these options, but it will make your search in Google Scholar more effective.)
  • Google Scholar may provide a link to a full-text article, but after clicking through several steps you may discover that the publisher charges a fee. Links in the library's research databases nearly always produce a "free" electronic copy of an article.

For these reasons, use Google Scholar to complement what you find through the library's own research databases. If you are not sure which database to use, read these tips on choosing the right research database.
gov doc logo

Contact us with any questions or suggestions.
1855 Knollcrest Circle SE Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4402 Phone: (616) 526-7197 Fax: (616) 526-6470