Hekman Library: Art and Art History: Home

Recommended Research Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR offers scholarly, peer-reviewed journals across numerous disciplines.
Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Source offers journals, books, and over 63,000 images.

Art & Architecture Source has strong international coverage, and is useful as a full-text complement to the database Art Abstracts. It also includes an image search feature that allows a user to limit by subject, period/style, media, and image type.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers humanities journal bibliographic data.

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) is accessed through the Web of Science platform, with which more databases can be searched simultaneously. To search the Arts & Humanities Citation index exclusively, use the More Settings option at the bottom of the Web of Science search screen.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online: Art reference with images; 3 simultaneous users limit.

In addition to the Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Oxford Art Online also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Most reference articles provide extensive bibliographies and links to related resources. Other helpful features include learning resources such as subject guides, timelines, and resources for educators.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection.
Getty Vocabularies
A structured, expert vocabulary of art terms, helpful for advanced searching.
Google Art Project
Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture.

Looking to discover more? Try browsing the shelves on the 5th floor in these call number sections:

Call Number	Subject
N	Visual Arts (General)
NA	Architecture
NB	Sculpture
NC	Illustration, Design, Drawing
ND	Painting
NE	Printing
NK	Decorative Arts, Applied Arts
NX	Arts in General

For graphic design books, also look in these areas:

HF 5800-6161	Advertising
TK 5105.888	Web design
TR	Photography
Z	Printing & production, typography

Hekman How-To Video Playlist
Check out the library's Youtube channel for step-by-step visuals on how to find books, articles, and more in our online Primo Search.

Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.

Search MeLCat

Search Worldcat

Research and instruction, collection development
Liaison to Communication, English, Philosophy, Visual and Performing Arts (Art, Music), Gender Studies

Art and Art History
by Sarah McClure Kolk Last Updated Sep 29, 2025 10 views this year
History
by Gina Kendig Bolger Last Updated Nov 10, 2025 18 views this year