Hekman Library: Classical Studies: Home

Polis : an introduction to the ancient Greek city-state

A Homeric dictionary, for schools and colleges

A Greek grammar of the New Testament and other early Christian literature

Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature

Lexicon Gregorianum: Worterbuch zu den Schriften Gregors von Nyssa

Recommended Databases

Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Humanities Source provides full-text scholarly sources in the humanities.

Humanities Source is ideal for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. This includes studies in art, classical studies, communications, culture, gender studies, history, linguistics, literature, religion, theology and philosophy. The database features articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (ABRIDGED) - Create profile (free) before using
Digital library of Greek literary texts to 1453.

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. The TLG has also digitized a number of lexica, most notably the Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek English Lexicon. All lexica are linked to the TLG corpus.

The library no longer has a subscription to TLG, but you can access the Abridged TLG, the Canon bibliographies, and TLG’s lexica without a subscription. The Abridged TLG uses the same search engine with a smaller number of texts. It covers most of the classical authors and some patristic texts.

Please note that each user will be asked to create a user profile (login name and password).

Special Resource: Loeb Classical Library

The Loeb Classical Library is a collection of the writings of Greek and Latin authors found at PA3611-PA3612 (Greek authors) and PA6156 (Latin authors) on the 5th floor of the library. Each book provides original text paired page by page with an English translation. Find books in these series by doing an "Advanced Search" in the library catalog, searching for "Loeb Classical Library" as a series, and limiting by author.

Special Resource: Centurion

Centurion - Defender of Rome
Try your hand at this retro MS-DOS strategy game. "Starting as a young Roman legionnaire in 275BC, your job is to conquer the known world through force or diplomacy, fighting on land and sea. Centurion: Defender of Rome is a turn-based strategy game. You start with one province, Rome, and one legion. To complete the game, you have to conquer all the provinces on the map" (website description).

Recommended Web Sources

Perseus Project
The Classics Collection of the broader Perseus Project contains extensive and diverse resources, including primary texts (including English translations of primary texts) and secondary works, site plans, digital images, and maps related to the Greek and Roman world. Use the list of Greek and Roman Materials, or search the site, using the Perseus catalog .

Papyri.info
Papyri.info supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials. The Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.
Diotima
An interdisciplinary resource on women and gender in the ancient Mediterranean world. The site is searchable and includes bibliographies, translated texts, essays, and images. It has full-text links to articles in Hekman Library's JSTOR collection.
Texkit: Greek and Latin Learning Tools
Textkit is the Internet's largest provider of free and fully downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers. There are also many other areas of Textkit, which can help you learn Greek and Latin.

Other Recommended Resources

Patrologia Latina Database
The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. This is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. (For help in citing this, see the annotation).
Perseus Project
The Classics Collection of the (now) broader Perseus Project contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps related to the Greek and Roman world.
Textkit: Greek and Latin Learning Tools
Textkit is the Internet's largest provider of free and fully downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers. With currently 146 free books to choose from, Greek and Latin learners have downloaded 648,431 grammars, readers and classical e-books. There are also many other areas of Textkit which can help you learn Greek and Latin.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (ABRIDGED) - Create profile (free) before using
Digital library of Greek literary texts to 1453.

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. The TLG has also digitized a number of lexica, most notably the Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek English Lexicon. All lexica are linked to the TLG corpus.

The library no longer has a subscription to TLG, but you can access the Abridged TLG, the Canon bibliographies, and TLG’s lexica without a subscription. The Abridged TLG uses the same search engine with a smaller number of texts. It covers most of the classical authors and some patristic texts.

Please note that each user will be asked to create a user profile (login name and password).

Find Classical Studies Titles

Not Finding What You're Looking For?

Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.

Search MeLCat

Search Worldcat

Get Research Help

Katherine Swart Van Hof
Collection Development Librarian

Responsibilities

Collection Development
Instruction
Reference
Liaison to Business, Classics, Economics, Education, Mathematics & Statistics, and Political Science

Connect to Related Guides

Classical Studies
by Katherine Swart Van Hof Last Updated Sep 29, 2025 7 views this year

Citation 101
by Hekman Library Last Updated Aug 7, 2024 1068 views this year

Classical Studies