Recommended Databases
-
ProQuest One Business
Business-focused library with millions of full-text periodicals and reports. -
EconBiz
Free economics articles, working papers, and conference proceedings. -
American Economic Association Journals
Includes AEA core journals covering micro, macro, and applied economics. -
National Bureau of Economic Research - NBER Working Papers
NBER: Full-text downloads of nearly all authorized NBER Working Papers.
Recommended Web Sources
-
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Economy at a GlanceExtensive detailed historical and current data for the U.S. by census region, state, and metropolitan area.
-
EconomagicSubscribed to by Calvin's Economics and Business Departments, this site features economic time series data, useful for economic research, especially economic forecasting. Use this site to find economic time series, as well as Excel charts of that same data. "The core data sets involve U.S. macroeconomic data . . . and employment data by local area." For help with advanced searches, contact the Accounting Department.
-
Economic Mobility ProjectPew poll statistics on economic well-being and mobility in the United States.
-
FDIC: Federal Deposit Insurance CorporationThis site is highly recommended for researching U.S. economics, finance, and banking. "The . . . FDIC preserves and promotes public confidence in the U.S. financial system by insuring deposits in banks."
-
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic DataFRED II is a database of over 3,000 U.S. economic time series.
-
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)Search this site for useful economic research about macroeconomics, industry, trade, income, and many other data sets.
-
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)Visit this site for the latest information on national (including GDP), regional, industry, and international accounts.
-
BEOnline PlusBEOnline Plus is the Library of Congress's catalog of business/economics resources. Access is by title or subject lists, including categories like accounting, business plans, finance, international development, industries, and companies.
-
EH.netThis site provides a variety of resources on economic history. Be sure to check out the Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History and "How Much Is That?" interactive program.
-
International Trade and Market Access DataThis interactive platform provides WTO data on merchandise and commercial trade services, as well as selected market access indicators from World Tariff Profiles.
-
Total Economy DatabaseThis comprehensive database provides free access to annual numbers of GDP, population, employment, hours, and productivity for about 123 countries in the world. Data can be downloaded into Excel.
-
UNESCO Institute for Statistics"UIS.Stat contains all the latest available data and indicators, for education, literacy, science, technology and innovation, culture, communication and information."
-
United Nations - Economic StatisticsVisit this site to search specific data collected by the U.N. regarding economics
-
The World Bank DataBankThis site is especially useful for researching economic indicators, such as GDP and GINI index. "DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them."
-
World Economic Outlook ReportsThese reports are a survey of the IMF and provide analysis of global economic developments during the near and medium term. Reports are published twice a year and the website currently includes reports back to 1993 with a gap of four years (1994-97).
Special Resource: United Nations International Economic Commissions
Special Resource: OECD Newsroom
-
OECD Newsroom
News out of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, which is committed to "establishing international norms and finding evidence-based solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges"
Tips for Searching
Looking to discover more? Try some of these sample searches in the library's online Primo catalog:
-
Hekman How-To Video Playlist
Check out the library's Youtube channel for step-by-step visuals on how to find books, articles, and more in our online Primo Search.
Find Economics Titles
Not Finding What You're Looking For?
Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.
Get Research Help
Katherine Swart Van Hof
Collection Development Librarian
- 616.526.6311
- katherine.vanhof@calvin.edu
- Hekman Library 327
See Library Maps
Responsibilities
- Collection Development
- Instruction
- Reference
- Liaison to Business, Classics, Economics, Education, Mathematics & Statistics, and Political Science