Hekman Library: French: Home

Find French Research

ARTFL - Main Database (FRANTEXT)
ARTFL corpus includes French literature and nonfiction (12th–20th centuries).

Separate databases in the project include works by French women writers, collections of medieval Provencal poetry, Diderot and d'Alembert's massive Encyclopedie and its supplement, Le Journal de Trevoux, (an 18th C. periodical collection), and several others.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Definitive index for language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, and film studies.

In addition to its research coverage, the MLA database also includes two important scholarly search tools: the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. Learn more about the MLA International Bibliography database, its features and tools, and advanced searching options in these video tutorials.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts indexes world history literature excluding U.S. and Canada.
Caribbean Search (EBSCO)
Caribbean Studies covers countries, cultures, history, business, and law.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers scholarly, peer-reviewed journals across numerous disciplines.
Project Muse
600+ scholarly journals in humanities and social sciences; Calvin Alumni access.

BBC Country Profiles
From the BBC, "full profiles... to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions." Also, some audio and video from the BBC archives
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Le Monde
Le Monde is a most prominent and influential daily French newspaper.
L'Express
One of the two leading French weekly news magazines.
L'NouvelObs
A leading French weekly news magazines.
L'Actualite
The leading French news magazine in North America, published in Montreal, Canada.
La Presse
An influential French newspaper in North America, published in Montreal, Canada.

Fabula: la recherche en litterature
Articles on literature and literary debates in French literautre
France & French Collections at the Library of Congress
This guide provides Library of Congress resources, including digitized primary sources, French literary prizes, journals, graphic novels, databases, information on French Women's Press, Contemporary Issues in France and Francophone Literature.
French culture and education in the U.S.
From U.S. French Embassy
Gallica: Bibliotheque nationale de France digital library
Contains manuscripts, images, maps, periodicals, musical scores, and sound recordings.
Persée
Persee.fr provides free and open access to complete collections of scholarly publications (journals, books, conference proceedings, serial publications, primary sources, etc.) and to a range of research tools.

Looking to discover more? Try browsing the shelves on the 5th floor in these call number sections:

Call Number	Subject
DC30-34.5	French culture
DC35-424	French history
DC138	French Revolution, 1989
DT521-555	French West Africa
F1001	Canadian history
F1900	Haitian history
PC2640	Dictionaries
PC2121	Conversation and phrase books
PC2112	French grammar
PC 2075	History of French
PQ1-PQ3999	French literature

Hekman How-To Video Playlist
Check out the library's Youtube channel for step-by-step visuals on how to find books, articles, and more in our online Primo Search.

Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.

Search MeLCat

Search Worldcat