Find Spanish Research
Recommended Databases
-
Education Source (EBSCO)
Scholarly research covering all education levels and specialties. -
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete gives comprehensive author info worldwide. -
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Historical Abstracts indexes world history literature excluding U.S. and Canada.
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)Definitive index for language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, and film studies.
Special Resource: Country Information
-
BBC Country ProfilesFrom the BBC, "full profiles... to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions." Includes audio and video from the BBC archives
-
CIA World FactbookProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Special Resource: Spanish Newspapers
-
Worldpress.orgDirectory of world newspapers and magazines, sorted by country, region, and political affiliation
-
South America - Newspapers and News SitesNews and media from South America - in English
-
Spain - Newspapers and News SitesNews and media from Spain - in English
Recommended Web Resources
-
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de CervantesAccess to thousands of works of Hispanic literature, newspaper collections, video library, etc.
-
Ibero-American Electronic Text SeriesA project devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
-
Pew Hispanic CenterProvides articles about topics such as Hispanic demographics, politics, and immigration.
Listen and Learn
-
BBC Languages - Spanish"A comprehensive and lively collection of free audio and video courses for both beginners and intermediate learners."
-
Coffee Break SpanishA great podcast for learning Spanish, with multiple series aimed at beginner and intermediate learners
-
Destinos" These videos teach speaking, listening and skills to understand Spanish through the telenovela or Spanish soap opera. There are dialects from Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and Puerto Rico that allows the listener to learn of the different Hispanic cultures. The videos are closed captioned in Spanish. "
-
News in Slow SpanishPodcast for Spanish-language learners teaching through discussion of current, global news
-
Spanish Language Blog"Great blog maintained by Transparent Language, a leader in language software. It ... uses lessons, videos and even cultural anecdotes to help you learn grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation and more."
Books on the Hekman Library 5th Floor
Explore Hekman books by browsing the shelves on the 5th floor in these call number sections:
| Call Number | Subject |
|---|---|
| DP1-402 | History of Spain |
| F1201-3799 | History of Latin America, including the Caribbean |
| E184.S75 | Hispanic Americans |
| HC94-1085 | Economic history and conditions by region or country |
| PC4001-4977 | Spanish language and linguistics |
| PQ6001-8929 | Spanish literature |
| PQ7081-8560 | Literature of Latin America |
-
Hekman How-To Video Playlist
Check out the library's Youtube channel for step-by-step visuals on how to find books, articles, and more in our online Primo Search.
Get Research Help
Francene Lewis
Head of Collection Management Dept., Cataloging Librarian
- 616.526.6308
- flewis@calvin.edu
- Hekman Library 326
See Library Maps
Responsibilities
- Head of the Collection Management Department
- Liaison to Asian Studies, Dutch, French, German, Spanish and Kinesiology
Not Finding What You're Looking For?
Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.
