Recommended Databases
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
ATLA indexes articles and reviews on religion, theology, and biblical studies. -
Theology and Religion Online
Bible commentaries and religious reference books. -
Christian Periodical Index (EBSCO)Christian Periodical Index indexes evangelical Christian journals and reviews.
-
Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL)
Digital books on theology and philosophy from 15th-18th centuries. -
Association of Religion Data Archives
ARDA provides free global religion data and church membership statistics. -
Ministry Matters Library
Ministry Matters: Practical inspiration with articles, book reviews, worship and preaching helps.
Tips for Searching
Looking to discover more? Try browsing the shelves on the 4th floor in these call number sections:
| Call Number | Subject |
|---|---|
| BS1 - BS2970 | The Bible |
| BT1 - BT1480 | Doctrinal Theology |
| BV1 - BV5099 | Practical Theology |
| BX1 - BX9999 | Christian Denominations |
-
Hekman How-To Video Playlist
Check out the library's Youtube channel for step-by-step visuals on how to find books, articles, and more in our online Primo Search.
Find Religion/Theology Titles
More Recommended Resources
-
Open Access Digital Theological LibraryThe Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) curates content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
-
Theology on the WebA free digital resource offering 100,000+ rare and out-of-print theology texts, detailed bibliographies, and seven cross-linked sites to support seminary students, ministers, authors, and publishers.
-
Catholic EncyclopediaSearchable encyclopedia providing "full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine"
-
The Online Critical PseudepigraphaThe mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.
-
The Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital LibraryA free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls
-
ORB: On-Line Reference Book for Medieval StudiesWeb site maintained by medieval scholars which contains the "Orb Encyclopedia," an index of original essays on medieval studies arranged by topic, a dictionary of medieval terms, online bibliographies and time lines, and links to medieval internet resources.
-
YodAlphaYodAlpha is a search engine exclusively dedicated to Religious, Theological, and Biblical Studies. Its index is built from crawling the websites of various academic institutions that support open access scholarship.
Not Finding What You're Looking For?
Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.
Get Research Help
Jeff Lash
Theological Librarian and Assistant Dean for Seminary Matters
- 616.526.6121
- jeff.lash@calvin.edu
- Hekman Library 423
- See Library Maps
Sam Ha
Theological Librarian & Curator of Meeter Center
- 616.526.7041
- sam.ha@calvin.edu
- Hekman Library 422
See Library Maps