Cayvan Recorded Media Collection

About Cayvan

The Cayvan Recorded Media Collection is a multi-format media collection located on the 2nd floor of Hekman Library housing the library's audio and visual media collections (movies, music, audiobooks, etc.).

The collection area also provides five media-playback rooms and a variety of other playback devices for in-house patron use.

Materials in the Cayvan collection are available during the library's hours of operation. They may be checked out at the main checkout desk on the 2nd floor.


Online Audio Through Naxios Music Library

Hekman has access to two online music "libraries" which were purchased by the library for students to listen to assigned music or for Calvin users to simply enjoy listening to their favorite music. They are Naxos Music Library (NML; primarily Classical recordings) and Naxos Jazz. Both offer users the ability to listen to thousands of musical recordings. NML releases around 200 new CD recordings per year. Playlists can be created by students and professors for private use or for in-class discussion and analysis. Naxos includes composer biographies, artist information, custom institutional playlists, free mobile apps, and work analyses of major works.

There is a limit of 15 simultaneous users for both NML and Naxos Jazz. Questions? Ask Beth Steele in Access Services or Amanda Matthysse, librarian liaison to the music department.

CAUTION: Naxos is a stream-only resource. Any downloading or burning from NML is prohibited and violates both copyright law and the Terms of Use agreement.


A Little Bit of Cayvan History

Read about Llewellyn 'Leo' Cayvan (Archon database, Heritage Hall).