Hekman Library: REC310: Home

Getting Started with Research for REC 310!

Need a review of Hekman Library basics? Browse the Hekman How-to playlist on Youtube.
If you're off-campus, start at the library homepage when connecting to databases and ebooks, so you are recognized as a Calvin user (Enter your Calvin username and passphrase when you are prompted to login.).
Struggling with citations? Check out the library's Citation 101 guide or try using Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab)

Try these Research Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Academic Search Complete also offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency.
APA PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Provided by the American Psychological Association, APA PsycINFO offers access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. When you search APA PsycINFO, you are also searching the ProQuest Psychology Database and the APA PsycARTICLES database.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
CINAHL provides indexing for journals about nursing and related fields. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.
CINAHL Database provides the top nursing and allied health literature available, including over 5,300 nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. In addition, CINAHL Database has health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, legal cases, research instruments, and clinical trials. Not only is it an authoritative, specialized nursing resource, it is equipped with powerful search tools, including the CINAHL Subject Headings thesarus, which follows a similar structure to the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) system. This database covers sources dating from 1937 to present day.
Education Source (EBSCO)
Provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Sports Medicine and Education Index (ProQuest)
This index covers the huge volume of scholarly or peer-reviewed literature in the field of physical education from kinesiology, fitness tests and motor learning to recreation, sports equipment and coaching. This wide ranging database will help locate articles on sports psychology/sociology as well as physical and occupational therapy.
The surge of academic, professional and personal interest in the field of physical education has resulted in a huge volume of scholarly and trade literature. Since 1970 Sports Medicine & Education Index has been covering this vast collection of material. Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications.

Sports Medicine & Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.

Subject Coverage
Administration
Biomechanics-Kinesiology
Coaching
Curriculum
Dance
Facilities
Health
History
Law
Measurement-Evaluation
Motor Learning
Patents (that pertain to sporting goods and exercise equipment)
Perception
Philosophy
Physical Education
Physical Fitness
Physical Therapy
Recreation
Research
Sport Activities
Sport Psychology
Sport Sociology
Sports
Sports Medicine
Teaching Methods
Training
Web of Science
Web of Science (WoS) indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. Its major subject areas include the natural and social sciences and arts and humanities, with coverage for all areas back to 1900. The heart of WoS is the "Core Collection," which contains records of articles from the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals.

These video tutorials teach aspects of searching, analyzing results, creating a researcher profile, and more.

Limiting Your Search in Research Databases

Some research databases (e.g., JSTOR or Project Muse) cover only scholarly or peer-reviewed journals, but most include a mix of scholarly and other types of articles (popular, industry, news).

Those databases that have wider coverage typically offer the option for you to narrow your search to scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals. Look under "limit to" or "narrow results" in the basic or advanced search screens.

Search the Library's Catalog

The Hekman Library has a great depth of resources on therapeutic recreation, faith, and disability. Explore its resources using some of the controlled vocabulary listed here.