Recommended Databases
-
ProQuest One Business
Business-focused library with millions of full-text periodicals and reports. -
eBook Business Collection (EBSCO)
Curated ebooks on business, finance, leadership, and entrepreneurship. -
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)Communication & Mass Media Complete covers communication and related disciplines journals.
-
Small Business Source
Full text small business references, videos, and planning tools. -
Mintel
Mintel: US-focused consumer market research with market size, trends, and forecasts.
Recommended Web Resources
-
Best of the Best Business GuidesThe Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of the American Library Association has put together several guides filled with great resources for a range of business topics
-
BEOnline PlusBEOnline Plus is the Library of Congress's catalog of business/economics resources. Access is by title or subject lists, including categories like accounting, business plans, finance, international development, industries, and companies.
-
Doing BusinessThis World Bank site provides free access to publications that help businesspeople worldwide conduct business in a wide variety of countries. Considered an essential resource to business schools, this site provides free access to many reports.
-
Export.gov"Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace." Offers quite a bit of data by industry and country.
-
Global Resource Directory"Offers a rich collection of thousands of international business- and trade-related resources, which [have been] selected for their content and usability and organized into the categories below to facilitate your research."
-
ThomasNetThomasNet is an industrial search engine that is "designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services."
Tips for Searching
Looking to discover more? Try some of these sample searches in the library's online Primo catalog:
When searching for books on business ethics, try to use broad terms like management or business, combined with religion or religious aspects.
To remove government documents from your search results, locate the "limit to" row just under the search bar. Then, change "Hekman Library" to "General Collection."
-
Hekman How-To Video Playlist
Check out the library's Youtube channel for step-by-step visuals on how to find books, articles, and more in our online Primo Search.
Find Business Titles
Special Resource: Business Plans
-
Business Plans IndexThis guide "lists types of small businesses and a corresponding sample business plan, profile, or book about the business with sources provided after each entry."
-
SCORESponsored by the U.S. Small Business Administration, this website offers business plan templates, marketing advice, webinars, and much more.
Not Finding What You're Looking For?
Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.
Get Research Help
Katherine Swart Van Hof
Collection Development Librarian
- 616.526.6311
- katherine.vanhof@calvin.edu
- Hekman Library 327
See Library Maps
Responsibilities
- Collection Development
- Instruction
- Reference
- Liaison to Business, Classics, Economics, Education, Mathematics & Statistics, and Political Science