Recommended Databases
-
APA PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
Full-text peer-reviewed psychology articles from English language journals. -
LGBTQ+ Rights (HeinOnline)
A collection of subject-coded materials charting the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.
-
Open Society Justice Initiative (HeinOnline)
Contains reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets from the Open Society Justice Initiative exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
-
Social Justice Suite (HeinOnline)
Topics include civil rights, social justice, gun regulation, slavery, open society, and LGBTQ+ rights.
-
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Index of international sociology and social behavioral sciences literature.
-
Sociology Database (ProQuest)Sociology and social work literature; includes Sociological Abstracts content.
Recommended Web Sources
-
Open Knowledge RepositoryThe World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
-
U.S. Department of Health and Human ServicesThe United States Department of Health & Human Services, also known as the Health Department, is a cabinet-level department of the U.S. federal government with the goal of protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
-
U.S. DOJ - Office on Violence Against WomenThe Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) provides federal leadership in developing the national capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.
-
Human Rights WatchHuman Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world. They work to protect the most at risk, from vulnerable minorities and civilians in wartime, to refugees and children in need.
-
Welfare Info - MichiganThis website seeks to provide a central location to find government benefits, and provide transparency on government assistance spending at a National, State and Local level.
-
KIDS COUNT Data CenterKIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report that assesses child well-being in the United States
Tips for Searching
Looking to discover more? Try some of these sample searches in the library's online Primo catalog:
-
Hekman How-To Video Playlist
Check out the library's Youtube channel for step-by-step visuals on how to find books, articles, and more in our online Primo Search.
Find Social Work Titles
Not Finding What You're Looking For?
Borrow from another library with MeL or ILL when Hekman Library doesn't have it.
Get Research Help
Gina Kendig Bolger
Scholarly Communication Librarian
- 616.526.6310
- gina.bolger@calvin.edu
- Hekman Library 330
See Library Maps
Responsibilities
- Research and instruction, collection development
- Copyright awareness and scholarly communication practices
- Calvin Digital Commons (institutional repository)
- Liaison to History, Psychology, Sociology, and Social Work