About the Examples
This page provides examples of works cited entries in MLA Citation Style for a variety of common sources. These examples should not be considered exhaustive.
If you are unsure how to cite a particular source, talk to your instructor or a reference librarian, or consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
Parts of a Citation
Works Cited Examples - Books and Anthologies
Book by one author (Brophy 45)
Brophy, Robert J. Robinson Jeffers: Dimensions of a Poet. New York: Fordham UP, 1995. Print.
Book with two or three authors (Werther and Davis 288) (Edginton, Hudson, and Lankford 210-25)
Werther, William B., Jr. and Keith Davis. Human Resources and Personnel Management. 4th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1993. Print.
Edginton, Christopher R., Susan D. Hudson, and Samuel V. Lankford. Managing Recreation, Parks, and Leisure Services: An
Introduction. Champaign: Sagamore, 2001. Print.
Book with more than three authors (Gilman et al. 314)
Gilman, Sander, et al. Hysteria beyond Freud. Berkeley: U of California P, 1993. Print.
Multiple books, same author (Brophy, Dimensions 45) (Brophy, Myth 143)
Brophy, Robert J. Robinson Jeffers: Dimensions of a Poet. New York: Fordham UP, 1995. Print.
---. Robinson Jeffers: Myth, Ritual, and Symbol in His Narrative Poems. Cleveland: P of Case Western Reserve U, 1973. Print.
Edited book (Nuwer xii)
Nuwer, Hank, ed. The Hazing Reader. Bloomington: Indiana UP, 2004. Print.
Chapter in an edited book (Arnold 52, 85-87)
Note: When citing multiple pages, insert a comma in between.
Arnold, James C. “Hazing and Alcohol in a College Fraternity.” The Hazing Reader. Ed. Hank Nuwer. Bloomington:
Indiana UP, 2004. 51-105. Print.
Book with a corporate author (ESRI 210-15)
ESRI Business Information Solutions. The Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics. 17th ed. [Redlands]:
ESRI Business Information Solutions, 2003. Print.
Recipe from a cookbook with one author (Hazan)
Hazan, Marcella. "Filetti Farciti di Pesce Turchino." Recipe. Marcella’s Italian Kitchen. New York: Knopf, 1996. 17-23. Print.
Recipe from an edited cookbook including recipes by many authors (Parseghian)
Parseghian, Pam. "Pork Chops Provencal." Recipe. The Best of Cook's Magazine: Volume Two. Ed. Olga Rigsby.
Bridgeport, CT: Pennington, 1989. 159. Print.
Dictionary entry (“Palapa”)
Note: since there is no author listed, you are only citing the word.
“Palapa.” The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language. 4th ed. 2000. Print.
Works Cited Examples - Other
Company Profile
The generic format of a works cited entry for a company profile in Business and Company Resource Center is: "Company Name." Company Profile. Business Insights: Global. Web. Date of Access (date month year).
("company name")
"Darden Restaurants." Company Profile. Business and Company Resource Center. Web. 14 Sept. 2010.
Film or Video Recording
The generic format of a works cited entry for a film or video is: Title of Film. Dir. Director_Name. Perf. Performer_Name. Distributor, Year of release.
(Enemy)
Enemy at the Gates. Dir. JeanJacques Annaud. Perf. Joseph Fiennes, Jude Law, and Rachel Weisz. Paramount Pictures, 2001. DVD.
Personal Interview
The generic format of a works cited entry for a personal interview that you conducted: Last_Name_interviewee, First_name interviewee. Kind of Interview (Personal, Telephone, Email). Date of interview.
(Clinton)
Clinton, Bill. Personal interview. 4 July 2005.
ESHA Research's Food Processor database
("Ingredient")
"Ingredient: Rice, wild, ckd." The Food Processor SQL. Vers. 10.6.3. Salem, OR: ESHA Research, 2010. Software.
Personal Recipe Collection
(Maykut)
Maykut, Lois. "Tofu and Mushroom Curry." Recipe. Personal collection. 7 Sept. 2004.
Class Handout Quoting Another Source
The generic format of a works cited entry for a class handout quoting another source: Author of quoted source."Title of work from a published collection. (e.g. poem or article)."Titie of Publication. (book or periodical). "Title of Handout."Handout. Title of Course. (Name of Instructor) Name of School. Date of handout.
(Aldiss)
Aldiss, Brian. "Flight 063." Icaurs Poems: A Selective Arachniography. Handout. Composition, Literature and Critical Thinking: English 110. (Professor Jeff Westall.) Skyline College. Feb. 2006. Print.
Professor's Video Lecture posted in Ulearn
(Smith)
Smith, Joe. Foodservice Management: An Introduction. Kaltura. FSM1001: Blackboard, 2013.