Books on Faith and Exercise Science
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
An interdisciplinary database covering a wide variety of subjects, primarily from academic and scholarly journals. - APA PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Access research here around human psychology and social sciences. - ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO)The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion
- Christian Periodical Index (EBSCO)
Published by the Association of Christian Librarians, this database indexes journal articles and book reviews written from an evangelical Christian perspective or of interest to the evangelical community.
- Christian Reformed Church Periodical Index (CRCPI)
The CRCPI is an index to periodicals which are official publications of the Christian Reformed Church or its institutions, or periodicals which have a significant number of contributors who are affiliated with the CRC or its institutions including the Calvin Theological Journal and The Banner.
- American Religion Data ArchiveContains polls/surveys and research data collected on a wide range of topics concerning religious life. Look at the General Social Surveys or use the "Search" box using words like "sport", "physical activity" or "leisure".
Recommended Journals
Search terms to try:
Try the search terms below to engage with the concepts of health, physical education and faith. They can be used to search the Hekman Library catalog or research databases. Add the words "Religious aspects" or "Moral and ethical aspects" to your primary search terms. You will narrow your search tremendously.
- Exercise -- Religious aspects -- Christianity.
- Health – Religious aspects
- Physical fitness – Religious aspects
- Physical fitness – Moral and ethical aspects
- Physical education and training -- Religious aspects
- Sports -- Religious aspects
- Sports -- Moral and ethical aspects
- Health and religion
- Athletes - Prayers and devotions
- Athletes -- Religious life.
- Christian athletes
Spirituality and Health bibliographies
- Annual Spirituality & Health Bibliographies of Medline-Indexed ArticlesAn annual collection of citations on the interplay of spirituality and health.