Research Resources 101

Databases are online aggregators or collectors of information resources. Some databases are general or interdisciplinary, while some are subject-specific or focused on a particular area of study or resource. The most commonly recognized academic databases usually provide access to electronic journals, newspapers, dissertations, and book chapters - the biggest ones can contain thousands of items or citations for items, and they have lots of powerful searching tools to make it easier for users to find what they need. These databases often require a subscription or payment per item you want to access, but fortunately, Hekman Library pays for all Calvin students, faculty, and staff - all you have to do is make sure you navigate to the database through the library website (if you are off-campus, you may not be recognized as Calvin affiliate unless you go this route). Because of the restrictions within different database subscriptions, the library may not have immediate access to certain articles you find, but we can still request it for you through MeL/ILL or GetItNow services. 

• Pros: huge amount of research ; most available to view online or download immediately ; powerful search tools to filter results ; free through library
• Cons: not always immediate available ; huge amount of research (can be difficult to search through)
• Scholarly or Non? Many academic databases have a specific search function that lets you limit your results to just peer-reviewed or scholarly journals and journal articles. This makes databases one of the best ways to find scholarly sources, though they may contain other non-scholarly sources as well. One of the easiest ways to find a trustworthy database is to use the library's Find Database tool (see more under Library Tools in this guide). You can also use Search Start on the library homepage to begin a topic search and see results from several of our largest database groups.